We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One not to be missed!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 The Hawthorns

Everything you need for a comfortable stay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Everything you need for a comfortable stay
The sun is shining - time to go 'TO THE BEACH'!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Everything you need for a comfortable stay
The sun is shining - time to go 'TO THE BEACH'!
Stay warm beside 'Little Red'
2 singles or 1 super-king
Outside dining area
A place to relax and enjoy the evening sun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gullane, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lesley T
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One not to be missed!”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A perfect little bolthole. Small, although doesn't feel small, light and bright, and extremely well equipped. Perfectly functional. Geoff & Adria are the perfect hosts and eagre to please. The little garden at the back is a great wee suntrap in which to enjoy breakfast or a spot of lunch. Loved the log burner, very cosy. Lovely walk 5 mins to the beautiful Gullane beach. Villagers very friendly, went to the yearly apple festival where the villagers bring the apples from their trees and using the apple press they have purchased, turn this into apple juice which for a donation can be enjoyed along with lovely apple home baking, mmm. Falko Konditormeister not to be missed for freshly baked German bread and cakes. On the whole we and my 14 year old son plus yorkie had a lovely few days there. Thanks Adria you made us feel most welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The light and comfort of the propertu
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darcie194...
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just back from a wonderful few days in East Lothian which was made extra special by the very comfortable and spotless 1 the Hawthorns. Adria and Geoff made us and our boxer dog very welcome. The flat is small but the bedrooms and bath room are not cramped and the flat is well equipped with breakfast on the patio a pleasure. Walks to the beach provided good exercise depending on path chosen! All was,of course, helped by the fabulous Indian summer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrik J
1 review
“Perfect and comfortable for our needs”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We found the lodge, clean and tidy, well equipped with everything we need. The location in Gullane is perfect for golfers, like us, and a train trip to Edinburgh from Drem takes only 20 mins. We were very pleased with the choice we made and the lovely week we had in East Lothian.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and the beds
Liked least: The small dining table
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“modern comfy flat”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hawthorns. Very clean and comfy. Very handy for walking down to Gullane beach from door. Plenty to see and do. Ideal for our spaniel. Thanks

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myraef
Leighton Buzzard
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I came to The Hawthorns for a 4 night stay with my daughter as she is soon to start at The University of Edinburgh and we wanted to get to know the area. We initially thought of staying in Edinburgh but we were so glad that we decided to stay in Gullane as we had the best of both worlds. Edinburgh was within easy reach by train but we were also able to spend some time away from the hustle and bustle of the city in this peaceful location. The property was immaculate with a beautiful garden and Adria and Geoff were very welcoming. It was very well equipped with all kinds of interesting books, DVDs and useful leaflets. We thoroughly enjoyed following the Gullane village walk and loved the walk to the amazing beach. We were also lucky enough to have had some lovely weather and we saw some beautiful sunsets. I would definitely recommend a stay in this property and I hope to return in 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location, immaculate property and friendly welcome.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing