We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such fun!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gullane, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
aa3ape
North East UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Such fun! ”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Such a beautiful, well looked after holiday home. The home is clean and has everything you would need for a group of six. We has 10 people stay for Christmas dinner and Craig , the owner was outstanding. We were given extra chairs, plates , glasses etc. I would give this place and the service we were given 5*. We can't fault this holiday at all. Sky TVs in all rooms, the bathroom has a tv too, fast internet and very close to lots of fun towns and villages. Outstanding without a doubt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean,comfortable ,modern and welcoming.”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The booking process was easy .I was able to contact the owner,Craig, to ask him to set up the rooms to our requirements which he was very happy to do. The accommodation was very clean ,comfortable and modern,even a TV in the bathroom! We did not cook , but it was.vey well equipped for people who would want to do that. We were on a walking holiday and found some lovely walks around The Gullane area. The village has a good range of restaurants .We especially liked the Italian restsurant The Main Course.I have already recommended The Steading to golfing friends. We had a great time there. Thank you ,Craig.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful accomodation that has been been recently fitted out to an extremely high standard. TV's in every room (including the bathroom !!) and kitchen appliances are all of a very high specification. 3 good size double bedrooms with very large beds that can either be configured as large doubles or singles. The cottage was spotlessly clean when we arrived.
The owner Craig, who I'd never met before, couldn't do enough for us and even took me out for a game of golf on the championship course at Gullane, which was the highlight of my stay. Beautifully situated (very close to Muirfield as well as the Gullane courses) and lots to do in the area, even if you're not into golf. Saying that the courses at Gullane are all spectacular and visitors are welcomed on all 3 courses. I am certainly planning to return and will not hesitate to choose this property as my base. We loved our week there, and thought it was good value compared to other properties we had looked at in the area. Thanks Craig for a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The golf in the area
Liked least: The fact we had to come home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela C
1 review
“Ideal accomodation in an ideal location”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This property was selected on it's location and appearance. Both of these aspects are first cłass. The owner, Craig popped in to see us early into our stay. A small gesture, but grateful to receive this. A real plus to connect with someone when away from home, thanks to Craig for making time for this. This property is ideal for most groups, family getaways. Immediate
access to main road by car to explore East Lothian. A short walk of a few minutes into the entire of the village of Gullane. I would recommend this property summer and winter if you are travelling in a group to East central Scotland with access to Edinburgh simple. A beautiful well maintained property, with all the comforts of home and more, all of this and in a perfect location. Thanks for your support with our stay Craig, I hope to stay again in future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of interiors
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxjeffr...
Edinburgh
1 review
“Amazing Accommodation and Location”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a beautifully finished property and the owner Craig has provided everything you could possibly need for your stay. Additionally, Craig was very quick to respond to any questions we had.

There is ample parking right outside the steading. The property is situated in a very quiet location whilst at the same time being only a short walk from the centre of Gullane.

This will no doubt be very popular with golfers given the number of fantastic courses nearby but I was actually staying with my wife and 2 young children (my parents also joined us for a couple of days) due to a wedding we were attending at Archerfield. It was great for our kids and Craig was happy to arrange the beds to suit our needs. Craig also supplies a cot and high chair in the property.

We definitely plan to stay here again because of the high standard of the property and the number of nearby activities. We managed to pack a lot into our stay because it's so handy to a lot of attractions. Naturally there are the golf courses, the beach at Gullane is beautiful and there is a small play park close by for children. North Berwick is close and has lots to do, East Links Family Park is close by and the National Museum of Flight is also a must to see, and step aboard, Concorde!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing