We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Birthday Bliss”
other travellers have booked this property
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Tranquil hillside setting of the Coach House Coachhouse from west end
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Tranquil hillside setting of the Coach House
Coachhouse from west end
Outdoor table & log store - east end
Coachhouse from east end
Giant stone horseshoe seat
East wing dining table
West wing sitting area
West wing dining/kitchen
Cat on wildflower meadow roof of extension
Friends
Matilda
Peace!
A good catch
Sidecar adventure
View from a sidecar
Ferrying the first guest to our writing course in March
Writing in better weather - with advice from Oz
Lettie
View of Coachhouse from back
View to the east  from Coachhouse back fence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Probez
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Birthday Bliss”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed at the coach house to celebrate my husbands birthday. There were 11 adults and 3 children. Everyone of all ages had a great time. We fed and walked Llamas, had epic snowball fights, table tennis tournaments, table football and air hockey. Not to mention the amount of space we all had to relax in. At no point during the weekend did it feel we were under each other's feet as the house is very well laid out and decorated to a very high standard. We had everything we needed and Juliet and Alan were on hand for anything else. They were very accommodating and wonderful with the kids. The underfloor heating was a lovely treat and along with the stove fires the house was always toasty. Perfect for a snowy winter day. This is a place I would love to return to in the future. Perhaps in the spring/summer when it would be easier to go for walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosying up in front of the stove fire watching the snow fall through the large patio doors.
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2016
Thank you, birthday crowd, for the great review. We ( including the hungry llamas and hens) would love you to come back in Spring/ Summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
two_light...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay even in rainy weather”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We booked the whole house for a long weekend with friends and kids. I arrived before most of the other guests with the intention of picking the best bedroom, I ended up being spoilt for choice as all the bedrooms were great.

Our host was lovely, very accommodating, friendly and made us feel so welcome.
Both kitchens were well equipped, we mainly stuck to the main living/dining area and it was nice for all 12 of us to be able to sit together at mealtimes.

The weekend we visited, we were hit with heavy rain and strong winds, there was plenty to do indoors though, from the extensive DVD collection, to boards games, toys, plus a decent wifi connection and the external games room also provided hours of fun.

We also ventured out in the rain to feed the llamas which was enjoyable not just for the kids but the adults too!

We had a dry day full of sunshine for our last day and this made us really want to book again in the summer months.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2015
Thank you for the very kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had one good weather day! You would be very welcome to come back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soweto G
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxing and scenic setting with plenty to do!”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Thanks to the lovely Juliet and friendly Alan for welcoming a large group of 6 adults and 9 children. We had superb weather and a comfortable and enjoyable stay that worked well for a big group!

Highly recommended and such genuinely nice hosts!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thank you to an equally genuinely nice group of guests! We really enjoyed having you all to stay, as well as the sunshine you brought, and Lettie was pleased to be taken on an outing around the village with the kids.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan d
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Coach house in September 2105 for a long weekend with family. Our party was 14 in size and we easily fitted in the house, plenty of bedrooms most with en suite , living space and great gardens to play in and have a bbq.

The original coach house has been converted into very modern accommodation with an amazing extension that features a long dining table large enough to fit us all round for dinner. The owners Juliet and Alan are lovely people, booking was easy and Juliet made sure everything was ready for us arriving, she even made some delicious welcome cakes.
Alan started the weekend off by taking the kids around the property all piled into the back of a trailer pulled by a quad bike and Juliet was on hand to show the kids the Llamas at feeding time the next morning leaving us adults time to unpack and open the prosecco...
The house is set in spectacular countryside not too far from Castle Douglas, lovely beaches on the solway firth and lots of things to do.
This was the perfect place for a large family to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Thank you for the very detailed and kind review. We are glad you all enjoyed your holiday and we enjoyed doing the quad bike and llama stuff with the kids because we are big kids too. Prosecco at breakfast time sounds great!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leona M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our perfect little wedding.”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the coachhouse for our family to stay whilst celebrating our wedding.
Countryside, house, welcome of the owners juliet and alan first class.
We turned the games room into our reception area, setting 25 people, alan helped us in Evert way, getting extra tables, allowing uw to decorate and move everything a million times to suit.
We erected gazebos to get married in but last minute got married in the beautiful house, we moved furniture, had caterers, also brilliant, and neither juliet or alan battend an Eyelid.
Whilst having pictures taken an old motorbike and sidecar arrived.........brilliant, taking big and little kids for rides, thoroughly enjoyed, then mama llama arrived and was taken acwalknround the village with the little kids.
If your looking for a beautiful home, to hide away, i couldnt recommend enough. Anythingnwe asked was organised and juliet is fab at keeping in touch re details, they recommended a photographer - local Andy Buchanan who was excellent and unobtrusive and excellent local caterers Cartner catering - again who were excellent.
Thanks again to juliet and alan we could not have asked for more.
Leona and Drew

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Thank you for the brilliant review and for choosing the Coach House as the place for your wedding - we feel very honoured by this. It was brilliant to see everyone looking so happy and we have never seen the games room looking quite so beautiful before! Thank you, too, for all the beautiful flowers which you left. You would be most welcome to come back for anniversaries!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing