We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So very peaceful and beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The view a short walk from the cabin
Enter a caption for your photo
Winter in The Hideaway
The galloway forest park
the galloway forest park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lisaf2005
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So very peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My partner and I booked the Hideaway for 2 weeks of cycling (weather permitting) we managed just over 100 miles of fantastic scenery in different towns and villages in 3 days,the raiders road that runs through the galloway forest is stunning!rode to the kirkcupbright conservation park and a good ride just a few yards from the hideaway is to follow the sign to lochinvar then the by way signs its a very picturesque route where you will end up in the village of Moniaive with signs to get back to Dalry.The cabin was lovely and clean there's everything you need,we took extra towels and bedding as our stay was not for a short break,charmaine did ask if we needed clean towels after the 1st week..There's many different birds that come to the feeder outside ,also we saw the big brown hare in the garden.this really is a lovely place to stay and relax,we had many bbqs as the weather was quite kind to us.The local people were friendly and helpful.We had a lovely stay but unfortunately we had to go home a week early as I very badly sprained my ankle during a trip to the laggen activity centre ,I was xrayd at Drumfries Hospital and given crutches so any cycling or walking was out of the question,was gutted!!as we had not done the mtb trails in the forest...You are sure to have a very pleasant and relaxing time if you stay here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllyPulle...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Weekend Break”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Absolutely outstanding little Hideaway for our mini break to the mountains. The cabin was perfect in every way, couldn't fault a thing.

Weather was outstanding too! Definitely be back :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSander...
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Superb Post Christmas Tranquility”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived in the darkness, rain and winds on friday night. I got the keys from the little key holder with the code Charmaine had provided me with. (A nice little touch so you have peace from the very outset) However we had issued with the door when the wind caught it, however one call to Charmain had Jonathan arrive within a couple of mins and it was sorted. (thanks for that). Other than that we never saw them at all. OUr first impressions of the cabin were "WOW", a superbly decorated place, very snug and cosy. Just what we had hoped. Everything in there that you would really need. There is no oven just a hob and two microwaves. all the cutlery you would need, and crockery. We werent able to do any walking due to the weather unfrotunately but that was a good thing as it meant we could just kick back and enjoy the peace of the cabin. The bed was comfortable, the heating worked a treat, the shower nice and hot. Really for what we paid we had a great time there. Too cloudy for star spotting so we will be back in the warmer months to enjoy everything on offer arounf the cabing including a BBQ and a spiot of fishing in the loch. Perfect for a couple, but could accomodate two adults with one child comfortably. Loved it. Our sat nav ran out of juice just as we hit Dalry. The B7000 is not signposted anywhere so make sure you have yours charged. if you dont have one then its really the first real left on that road up through the village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the Peace
Liked least: The Weather! but hey ho
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyPa...
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great find in Scotland”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent cabin in great. Location. If you want peace and quiet and lovely cabin book the hideaway. Loads of. Walks birdwatching in area. Small village with two pubs small shop 3 miles away. The cabin has every thing you need. For. A great break away.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airman85
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Found the cabin to be so peaceful and secluded, just what we needed after the Edinburgh fringe.
Would recommend this to anyone who needs to relax.
Will be coming back soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing