We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday property!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barley cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
_lisacrwf...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday property!”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just came back from a week staying at Barley Cottage. We found the property immaculately clean and with everything you might need for a week away. Having a balcony overlooking the River Cree was a fantastic plus, we enjoyed sitting watching the cormorants and ducks dabbling around.The beds were extremely comfortable and the shower was really good! The only negatives were that it wasn't entirely clear that there isn't access to a garden, which was a bit tricky for our border collie! Luckily there was a park close by. Also there is a DVD Player, but no DVDs.
The property is very close to all the shops and cafés in Newton Stewart and within driving distance of tourists destinations. We especially enjoyed visiting the Mull of Galloway and The Gem and Rock museum in nearby Creetown .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the river view balcony.
Liked least: no garden for the dog.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments and glad you enjoyed your week in Newton Stewart. We will take on board your comments about the garden and dvd's. The dvd problem being easier to sort than the garden one! Although the space out the back of the property is available for use. Hope to welcome you back some time. Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbieb20...
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have recently returned home from five nights in Barley Cottage, and found it simply the best self-catering cottage we have ever stayed at, spacious, so clean and in an excellent location. Despite arriving late in the evening this wasn’t a problem for access and the cottage had everything we needed, just like a comfortable home-from-home. The activities in the surrounding area are superb and although we were in Newton Stewart to visit family we all agreed we would return purely as tourists to make the most of all that Dumfries and Galloway has to offer. We will definitely be back to stay at Barley Cottage as it ticked every box for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No garden. But easy access to river and grassed area close so it didn't matter.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Barley cottage, we look forward to welcoming you back. Many thanks for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billyrib
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I stayed here on the event of our daughter's wedding. We stayed for a week in order to help with the preparations and also used this cottage for a base from which our daughter would leave for the ceremony in a local hotel. The cottage was perfect in every way, spacious, well equipped and very comfortable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you for posting your review and hope everyone had a fantastic time at the wedding. :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnnyboy...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“A wonderfull 3 days”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

An amazing cottage,a great welcome pack of essentials,spacious,well equipped,all the comforts of home.
Beaches,eateries, pubs,walks,shops all at hand,the scenery is wonderfull.
A great experience all round,will most definitely go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home comforts
Liked least: Unable to answer it was so enjoyable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Barley cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel M
1 review
“Wonderful cottage holiday!”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had such a lovely few days with the family here over the festive. The cottage is really beautiful with stunning views. It is immaculately clean, furnished to a high standard with extremely comfortable cozy beds. It is equipped with everything you could possibly need. A welcome hamper was provided with the essentials which was a really nice touch and it really felt like home from home. Although we didn't visit any of the local attractions as we spent our time visiting family there are plenty brochures available of all things to do and places to eat.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay . Would highly recommend and would definitely return in the future.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2015
We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay at Barley cottage and look forward to welcoming you back. Many thanks for your possitive review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing