We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Penkiln Cottage

Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Barbara and sister Doris.RIP
A sizable Rainbow Trout from our Loch.
Downstream of our river (the Penkiln)
View towards Knockman Wood from our Loch
View towards the Merrick and Cairnsmore Hills  at the Farm.
Fully fitted shower room.
Bunk room.
Our extensive lounge.
Kitchen.
Double Room.
Near bye Mossyard Beach.
Near bye Port Patrick.
A wild Goat at the Goatpark.
Big George saying hello to guests through  our cat flap at the Farmhouse.
A Deer Stag at the Deer range.
One of our many Barn Owl chicks!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs Tamsy...
1 review
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A Fabulous holiday. Mark and Diane have a beautiful cosy cottage well equipped with everything required. They were very hospitable and offered good advice on places to visit . The location is perfect, nestled just outside of town to be remote and in the heart of the scenic Scottish countryside but only a short drive to town and access to all major routes for great days out. We were fortunate to have the perfect weather which only enhanced the holiday. We shall miss the evening walks down the lane watching the dear.
We have recommended to everybody we've seen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
Dear Guests . Many thank's for your lovely review of our cottage at Kirkland Farm. We always like to see our guests have had a nice stay, and we very much appreciate the time people take to post their reviews . We hope to welcome you all back to the farm in the very near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertgod...
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Absolutely wonderful place being overlooked by beautiful hills and forests and fields yet only a 10 minute walk into the town of Newton Stewart.
The property is of a very high standard, immaculately presented and very cosy and comfortable. An extremely relaxing property.
Mark and Diane are truly wonderful hosts, very friendly and most helpful if needed but you are very much left alone to enjoy your stay.
This is a working farm so all are asked to please respect the livestock and other animals.
There is so much to do in the area and Mark is a font of knowledge when it comes to the locality. All be it he is a fellow Prestonian ! !
The question for us is when are we going back .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Dear Guests . Many thanks for such a great review of Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. We are very pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us , and we look forward to seeing you all again soon . Hopefully we will get to go sea fishing next time !
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john o
stokesley
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Holiday - Despite no chickens”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just got home from a glorious stay in this great little spot. House very comfortable and had all we wanted. The best news is that there is no WIFI. (Mark please do not get it.)
If you want to relax in an area of outstanding beauty and in a cottage that truly allows you to turn off and get away from the busy world then head here.
The cottage is truly functional without being luxurious but the main things are that it is warm and has plenty of space to be together and as a family of 5 and a dog this is important.
The host is a Lancastrian which is always a good start and is friendly and helpful when you see him. But not intrusive and gives you a warm welcome and tells you about respecting the livestock and to remember it is a working farm.
No chickens or eggs but having learnt that an intruder of an animal kind had been on the hunt in the area this was not really a concern. (for us anyway.)
We will return and it cannot be soon enough.

Thanks Mark.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Dear Guest , Many thanks for your review hear with us at Kirkland Farm . It is always a pleasure to welcome new people who come to stay with us , and we are glad you enjoyed your stay ( More hens on the way ) We hope to see you all again in the very near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adam m
Apopka, Florida
1 review
“wonderful accommodation, with a warm welcome”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What can i say, last moment booking for just a week before we fly back home to FL. My family and I were very impressed by the high standard of the "cottage"-spotless comes too mind. Tastefully decorated, clean and has everything you might need for your stay. Great location, nice views, long walks, typical Scottish weather but well worth it. Mark, the owner was a character, he had a wealth of knowledge on the area and places to visit-the week flew buy-looking forward to stay longer next time and perhaps in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: above my expectation
Liked least: too short a stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Dear Guests . Another great review for us at Kirkland Farm , with our holiday cottage . We are glad you had such a good time , and we would love to see you all again sometime in the near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable well situated and peaceful”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in the cosy and very comfortable cottage with all the amenities we needed. The surrounding area was great to explore and included an excellent short walk recommended by Mark which started from the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall comfort, heating and seating
Liked least: Small windows but it did mean the cottage is well insulated.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Dear Guest . Many thanks for your kind review of Penkiln cottage . We hope to see you all again .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing