We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, friendly hosts!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Penkiln Cottage

Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Barbara and sister Doris.RIP
A sizable Rainbow Trout from our Loch.
Downstream of our river (the Penkiln)
View towards Knockman Wood from our Loch
View towards the Merrick and Cairnsmore Hills  at the Farm.
Fully fitted shower room.
Bunk room.
Our extensive lounge.
Kitchen.
Double Room.
Near bye Mossyard Beach.
Near bye Port Patrick.
A wild Goat at the Goatpark.
Big George saying hello to guests through  our cat flap at the Farmhouse.
A Deer Stag at the Deer range.
One of our many Barn Owl chicks!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Drew B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly hosts!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a lovely weekend in Newton Stewart and received a warm welcome from Mark on arrival.

The cottage is spacious, well equipped and comfortable. The location of the farm is wonderful with wonderful walks on the doorstep.

We would recommend the Cree Inn, Creebridge Hotel and The Belted Galloway for dog owners.

We look forward to returning for another visit.

Drew & Rose (+ Cree the dog)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Dear Guest's
Many thank's for your lovely review of Penkiln cottage . It's great to see that people have a relaxing time , and we very much appreciate the time you have taken in posting your review .We have lot's more places for you to visit ! Hope you can stay longer next time.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alandra24
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of Heaven.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What else is there to say about Penkiln Cottage that hasn't already been said. To stay in this lovely cottage was a sheer delight. The cordial welcome of Mark and Diane started our holiday off perfectly along with the generous basket of fresh eggs and delicious home made jam. The weather was kind to us and we only had rain over a couple of days but that didn't stop us from visiting Stranraer, Kirkudbright, Girvan and Ballantrae. The gorgeous sunny weather saw us enjoying the delights of Mossyard beach which is only 20 mins drive away and of course fishing for trout on the well stocked lake at Penkiln Cottage. The week passed all to quickly and we are already planning our next visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2014
Dear Guest .
Thank you so much for your kind review, and so glad you enjoyed your stay at Penkiln Cottage. We really appreciate the time people take in posting a review, and we very much look forward to you coming to stay with us again in the very near future.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOM922
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PENKILN COTTAGE SIMPLY THE BEST.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and myself stayed at Penkiln Cottage from 30th June till 4th July.It is without doubt the best cottage we have ever rented.Wonderfully clean,and an excellent location.Lots to see and do in the area.Good walks on and around farm.Owners Mark and Diane are two very nice people.Welcome basket of fresh laid eggs,home made jam,and biscuits was a wonderful touch.Would recommend to everyone,and we shall be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Midges
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
Dear Guest.
We are delighted that you have posted such a lovely revue about your stay with us at The Kirkland . We very much appreciate the time people take to write a review , and we fell very proud that people appreciate our efforts to make sure they have a pleasant stay at the Cottage . Many thank's once again for your revue , and we very much look forward to seeing you both again, In the very near future.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cantona67...
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely brilliant - most relaxing holiday we have ever had!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Penkiln cottage for a week, and what a delight it was!! The cottage is well equiped, extremely clean and comfortable. The owners, Dianne & Mark are both lovely people and cannot do enough for you. It was the most relaxing and enjoyable holiday we have ever had. The surrounding area is beautiful, with quaint harbours and beaches to explore, together with astounding countryside with beautiful walks. There is also numerous excellent restaurants and pubs nearby. Looking forward to going back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2014
Dear Guest.
We are glad you have enjoyed your holiday with us at Kirkland Farm , and we very much appreciate the time you have taken to post your kind comments on Penkiln Cottage . We take great satisfaction from receiving guest's reviews ,especially when they have had such a good holiday.Many Thank's. Hope to see you soon.!
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Penkiln Cottage for three nights. My wife will write the review about the cottage for both of us suffice to say I will comment on the fishing. Mark, the owner, has done an outstanding job of creating a small lake stocked with some hard fighting rainbow trout up to 6lbs. There are also some large brown trout which seem to hide away from me. Below the lovely cottage runs the Penkiln Beck which has wild browns, sea trout and salmon.
For anyone who likes fly fishing this cottage is manna from heaven.
Oh by the way, the cottage is beautiful and Mark and Diane are so welcoming.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Dear Guest .
Many thank's for your kind words in your review .It shows us that what we are doing here at Kirkland Farm is appreciated, and we very much appreciate guest's who take the time to post a review of their holiday at Penkiln Cottage . We very much hope to see you both in the not to distant future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing