We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Among the best b and b's we have ever stayed in.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sumptuous library lounge with log burning stove While away the hours reading a book and listening the crackle of the cosy log burner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Sumptuous library lounge with log burning stove
While away the hours reading a book and listening the crackle of the cosy log burner.
Fitted kitchen complete with both dining and soft seating areas
Luxurious power shower with complimentary toiletries...
Tranquil peace and stunning countryside views
Peruse the many books on display in the library lounge
Welcome to The Bothy B&B.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kelso, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nigel s
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Among the best b and b's we have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Before we even arrived at this unique place, we knew we were going to enjoy it, because of the friendliness and helpfulness of Ashley during the booking process.
We have stayed in countless b and b's and can honestly say that this was unique, in terms of the space and amenities provided. To have our own dining room, and lounge complete with a comprehensive library, was fantastic. And to be welcomed with a roaring fire after a long drive was just what we needed.
The location was ideal, being very close to the beautiful town of Kelso, and Ashleys recommendation of restaurants was spot on.
We would most definitely return to this b and b as it provides really good value compared with other more traditional properties.
Our only piece of advice to the proprietors would be to provide clearer directions to the bothy, once you have entered the farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Private facilities and hospitality
Liked least: difficult to locate in darkness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2013
Thank you both for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us, and I hope we will see you back again soon. You are always very welcome.Best wishes, Ashley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine F
Lanark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway to chill out after our wedding.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for a few nights after our wedding in August. We were looking for somewhere to just chill out and switch off after all the busy times we had surrounding our wedding! The Bothy B&B was perfect for this and was just what we needed! It was pretty easy to find, we were only travelling from South Lanarkshire anyway. It is beautifully decorated, so comfortable, clean, well equipped, I dont know how many times we said 'Aw I wish we could just live here!' Ashley and Simon were very helpful and provided us with a great cooked breakfast in the morning. Ashley suggested a few local bars/restaurants/ local attractions which we visited during our stay. What I really loved about the Bothy was that although it is a B&B, you have the feel that it is your own private getaway space, and we knew that the owners were nearby should we have needed help with anything. Looking forward to going back in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor, comfort
Liked least: having to leave....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
Thank you for the lovely review Elaine! I hope you both had a fabulous honeymoon in Italy! You are always very welcome back at The Bothy and we look forward to seeing you again sometime. Best wishes for your future together, Ashley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The decor
Liked least: Nothing,it was all good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2013
Thank you Graeme! We are always delighted to hear that guests have enjoyed The Bothy and like how we have decorated it. Look forward to having you both back sometime soon. Best wishes, Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peacehill
Wormit, Fife
1 review
“Fabulous accommodation with amazing hosts!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We wish we could of stayed longer! We had an over night stay while we were at a wedding in Kelso and it was just perfect. Easy to get to, amazing setting on the farm, beautifully decorated and finished. Simon & Ashley were so accommodating and helpful. The bothy had the type of atmosphere that instantly made you relax, loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2013
Thank you for the lovely review Emma. It was a pleasure having you both to stay and glad you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you back again soon! Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
West Sussex
1 review
“A fantastic stay - I would recommend to anyone”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a very warm welcome from Ashley and Simon, who were both friendly and professional. They supplied a put-you-up bed, greeted us with a lit fire (in late May), gave us good advice on where to eat in Kelso, and served breakfast as promised. The location suited us well about 3 miles from Kelso.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2013
Thank you for the lovely review Peter, we enjoyed having you both to stay for the Jim Clark Rally. Hope to see you back again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing