We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our second stay at this lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Burnbrae Holidays

Come, relax or eat in one of our south facing cottage conservatories. Amazing views into the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Come, relax or eat in one of our south facing cottage conservatories. Amazing views into the garden
Relax in the cottage garden. Admire the rural views over the Eden Water to the Cheviot Hills Each cottages has a south facing conservatory with wonderful rural views. Great to eat breakfast in
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Come, relax or eat in one of our south facing cottage conservatories. Amazing views into the garden
Relax in the cottage garden. Admire the rural views over the Eden Water to the Cheviot Hills
Each cottages has a south facing conservatory with wonderful rural views. Great to eat breakfast in
We supply lots of wood for your log burning stove. Each cottage also has central heating throughout.
We supply lots of wood for your log burning stove. Each cottage also has central heating throughout.
Relax in front of your wood burner, we supply lots of home grown wood.
Thairn cottage spacious living room has comfy seating for 3 and a dining area.
Spacious living room with smart TV and fast reliable fibre WiFi
Bright kitchen with large window. Welcome tray awaits your arrival with homebaking.
Mungo's Well and Begrum cottages can have twin beds.
Thairn cottage has an extra long king size bed and space for a single bed in the bedroom if required
Thairn cottage bright, spacious kitchen.
Clean, bright bathrooms.
Level access from carpark to each cottage.
Easy level access to the front door from the carpark.
Level access into each cottage.
View from patio. Come and walk in our fields.
Come and BBQ while admiring the magnificent view
The lockable cycle shed for your bikes, fishing gear, golfing equipment.
Early morning view from patio
Thairn cottage conservatory and patio overlooks lovely cottage garden.
A warm welcome awaits you whatever the weather. Central heating and a log burning stove.
Thairn cottage front door. Your holiday cottage awaits.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kelso, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nick L
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our second stay at this lovely location”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Picked a good week for our second stay here. Lots of warm sunshine and next to no rain! Everything was as before, lovely well appointed cosy cottage in a tranquil yet convenient rural setting within a five minute drive of Kelso. We got a warm welcome from Yvette who provided useful local information on upcoming events.
There is nothing to fault at all. We hope to go back next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Thankyou for taking time to write a review for other potential guests. It was lovely to see you and to hear that you enjoyed your holiday again. About half of our guests have stayed here before. I live next door and enjoy helping guests enjoy their holiday. I look forward to welcoming you back again. Best Wishes Yvette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
channelle...
1 review
“Recommended!”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A beautiful getaway, set in rolling hills, this destination is highly recommended. Quality accommodation in a stunning setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thankyou Channelle, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your short break. Hope you feel relaxed and refreshed. Best Wishes Yvette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheilamag...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Once again we've thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely part of Scotland. Begrum is an ideal cottage for us and our labrador. It is extremely comfortable, warm, and very well-equipped. The drying cupboard in the porch is an added bonus after walks. An amazing number of birds visit the bird feeder outside the conservatory which has lovely views. Had our usual wonderful meal at The Cobbles in Kelso and re-visited Melrose (lunch at Burts Hotel recommended). We can't recommend Burnbrae Holidays highly enough. Congratulations and thanks to Yvette and the boys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheilamag...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Marvellous again”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

After your stay last November, we couldn't wait to return to Burnbrae. We and our labrador enjoyed all the facilities of Begrum again and as the weather was good we could spend plenty of time in the surrounding gardens and fields. Excellent walks - even spotted some deer. Nearby Kelso is a lovely town with lots of interesting shops, and our visit coincided with an excellent art show. We had another excellent meal at 'Cobbles'. Can't wait to return.
Thank you Yvette etc.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thankyou for taking the time to share your experience at Burnbrae. The woodpecker has been back on our bird feeders. While out walking near Burnbrae I have seen deer many times since your visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Burnbrae soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great weekend in a beautiful part of the world.”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We so enjoyed our stay at Burnbrae, it's a great base for so many activities its hard to know where to start.
On return after a long walk I can tell you that the bath was fantastic! We had friends in the area and used Burnbrae as our respite from the parties. Coming from the city to peace and quiet was heaven, we slept so long we almost missed the mornings all together.
I would stay here again, in fact we can't wait.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thankyou for taking the time to write this review. Burnbrae is a very quiet and peaceful location as a treat to recharge your energy levels. The stars on a clear night are amazing. We look forward to welcoming you back to Burnbrae Holidays. Yvette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing