We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballachulish Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Creag Mhor Lodge(Ballachulish)
USD 191
USD 185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glencoe House(Glencoe Village)
USD 733
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holly Tree Hotel(Kentallen)
USD 304
USD 252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 308/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bay Caledonian Hotel(Fort William)
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
USD 199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Innseagan House Hotel(Fort William)
USD 126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruachan Hotel(Fort William)
USD 179
USD 166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,329)
Filter reviews
1,329 results
Traveller rating
349
502
268
126
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
502
268
126
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathcreaky stairsold buildingpublic roomstraditional hotellots of characterloch viewdining roommusselslarge loungeopen firefeature roombefore dinnertour groupitison dealboth nightslovely view
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,329 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Very nice old hotel, well updated, good amenities, as solid a location as you can expect in the middle of nowhere. Restaurant did a very nice full Scottish in the AM; was well placed to explore some more interesting evening dinner options, but you could always fall back to the hotel restaurant, and a really great bar.

Decent parking, no lift if you are dragging bags about. Only other minus was that we booked a jacuzzi suite and it was broken. Nothing was said about it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We were visiting Scotland for a long weekend and were driving from Edinburgh to Inverness on the first leg. Glencoe was an ideal place to stop overnight. We arrived after sunset and nearly drove straight past it. There is limited car parking but space on the road for a few cars opposite.

We knew that this hotel was old and that was indeed part of the appeal. It is certainly full of character and charm. The stairs creak no matter how much you tiptoe and the decor was dated but in the way it should be to match the building.

Check in was easy and friendly service. Booked a table in the restaurant for later that evening.

Our room was okay, fairly spacious, huge bed and nicely decorated, although after the freezing cold corridor to our room, it was boiling hot when we walked in! Managed to get the window open to get some fresh air. Bathroom was okay but looked a bit dated; like it needed some decorating and shower that was made after 1982.

There is a main and large reception room with chairs and sofas for guests to relax. Sadly when we went down, there was a family playing music from their phone and kids jumping, dancing and shouting, so not really the relaxing environment we were hoping. We found the small bar area and got a drink and then found a smaller second 'library' room which was much quieter and still full of charm and interesting furniture pieces. We sat in here until our table in the restaurant was ready.

Restaurant was okay. This seemed to lack the character of the rest of the building and just looked a bit run down/dated. Nothing too horrible though and it was clearly busy.
Food was average. It was perfectly edible and looked great but average is the best word to describe it. The cheese board for desert was the best thing and the 'Blue Murder' cheese was the best food we had through the whole meal!

Good nights sleep, although old hotel means thin walls :-) Woke up the next morning and opened the curtains to be greeted by a beautiful view of the surrounding area. Even if it was grey and raining!

Then we attempted to have a shower. I would describe this more like trying to shower under a dripping tap. No pressure what so ever and just about warm. Abandoned any chance of washing my hair and tried to avoid looking at the mould and limescale.

Breakfast was in the restaurant area and while the usual options were available this again was fairly average.

Check out was easy and all staff were friendly. This is a lovely old building in a lovely location but just needs some work to make it a little more amenable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building have a fab view of the area.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lolskie-and-Mr-Moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel is old and dated with creaky stairs and dated furnishings but that is its charm. It is a step back in time. They have a house cat and a fire in the hearth. The staff was great and very friendly. We had a great stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Very enjoyable stay at The Ballachulish Hotel.
All the staff were welcoming and friendly but a special thank you to John (think he was the manager)he was fantastic and always around with a friendly smile. The hotel is full of character and history. Amazing views with walking paths on your doorstep.
We Ate one evening in the restaurant which was very good and also reasonably priced. Breakfast was delicious and had a wide range of offerings.
Really recommend this hotel and thank you for making our stay special.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Stayed here for 1 night, as we were travelling from Wales to the Isle of Mull. Service was great, bed was HUGE and very comfortable, food was good. Nice option to sit in the lounge as well, especially with the beautiful views over the Loch. They also offer the option of using the swimming facilities at their sister hotel, which we didn't utilise but thought a nice extra.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews