We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,411)
Filter reviews
1,411 results
Traveller rating
369
521
286
141
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
521
286
141
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath creaky stairs public rooms old building traditional hotel lots of character loch view dining room mussels feature room open fire large lounge before dinner an upgrade itison deal both nights buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 1,411 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Very nice old hotel, well updated, good amenities, as solid a location as you can expect in the middle of nowhere. Restaurant did a very nice full Scottish in the AM; was well placed to explore some more interesting evening dinner options, but you could always fall back to the hotel restaurant, and a really great bar.

Decent parking, no lift if you are dragging bags about. Only other minus was that we booked a jacuzzi suite and it was broken. Nothing was said about it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimpQ2490OE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We were visiting Scotland for a long weekend and were driving from Edinburgh to Inverness on the first leg. Glencoe was an ideal place to stop overnight. We arrived after sunset and nearly drove straight past it. There is limited car parking but space on the road for a few cars opposite.

We knew that this hotel was old and that was indeed part of the appeal. It is certainly full of character and charm. The stairs creak no matter how much you tiptoe and the decor was dated but in the way it should be to match the building.

Check in was easy and friendly service. Booked a table in the restaurant for later that evening.

Our room was okay, fairly spacious, huge bed and nicely decorated, although after the freezing cold corridor to our room, it was boiling hot when we walked in! Managed to get the window open to get some fresh air. Bathroom was okay but looked a bit dated; like it needed some decorating and shower that was made after 1982.

There is a main and large reception room with chairs and sofas for guests to relax. Sadly when we went down, there was a family playing music from their phone and kids jumping, dancing and shouting, so not really the relaxing environment we were hoping. We found the small bar area and got a drink and then found a smaller second 'library' room which was much quieter and still full of charm and interesting furniture pieces. We sat in here until our table in the restaurant was ready.

Restaurant was okay. This seemed to lack the character of the rest of the building and just looked a bit run down/dated. Nothing too horrible though and it was clearly busy.
Food was average. It was perfectly edible and looked great but average is the best word to describe it. The cheese board for desert was the best thing and the 'Blue Murder' cheese was the best food we had through the whole meal!

Good nights sleep, although old hotel means thin walls :-) Woke up the next morning and opened the curtains to be greeted by a beautiful view of the surrounding area. Even if it was grey and raining!

Then we attempted to have a shower. I would describe this more like trying to shower under a dripping tap. No pressure what so ever and just about warm. Abandoned any chance of washing my hair and tried to avoid looking at the mould and limescale.

Breakfast was in the restaurant area and while the usual options were available this again was fairly average.

Check out was easy and all staff were friendly. This is a lovely old building in a lovely location but just needs some work to make it a little more amenable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building have a fab view of the area.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lolskie-and-Mr-Moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback Lolskie-and-Mr-Moore, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay overall, but sorry that some areas fell short. Our team will address the issues you've pointed out and hope it won't deter you from a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel is old and dated with creaky stairs and dated furnishings but that is its charm. It is a step back in time. They have a house cat and a fire in the hearth. The staff was great and very friendly. We had a great stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 106DavidW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Many thanks for sharing your thoughts with us David W. The team are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate the old world charm of the property. We hope we can welcome you back again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Very enjoyable stay at The Ballachulish Hotel.
All the staff were welcoming and friendly but a special thank you to John (think he was the manager)he was fantastic and always around with a friendly smile. The hotel is full of character and history. Amazing views with walking paths on your doorstep.
We Ate one evening in the restaurant which was very good and also reasonably priced. Breakfast was delicious and had a wide range of offerings.
Really recommend this hotel and thank you for making our stay special.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank NikkiD1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks for sharing your comments Alison V, we are delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable time with us. We hope it's not too long before we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Stayed here for 1 night, as we were travelling from Wales to the Isle of Mull. Service was great, bed was HUGE and very comfortable, food was good. Nice option to sit in the lounge as well, especially with the beautiful views over the Loch. They also offer the option of using the swimming facilities at their sister hotel, which we didn't utilise but thought a nice extra.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-GManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Many thanks for your feedback E A, we are so pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope the rest of your trip was a pleasant one and we have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews