We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cosy retreat amongst the trees”
other travellers have booked this property
LED lights enhance the natural beauty of red cedar in the evenings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LED lights enhance the natural beauty of red cedar in the evenings
The canopy creates a year-round sheltered, magical outdoor space The balcony has views to the Long Mynd and the evening sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
170 reviews
LED lights enhance the natural beauty of red cedar in the evenings
The canopy creates a year-round sheltered, magical outdoor space
The balcony has views to the Long Mynd and the evening sunset
Rain shower, heated towel rail, demister mirror, dressing area
The waterfall at the rear in full flow with the triple-glazed door open
Enjoy the view from the hot tub with jets, waterfall and mood lighting - even if it's raining
Sitting area with fire bowl with subdued outdoor lighting
One of several seating areas
Try and then buy a Kadai firebowl at the manufacturer's Wilstone Outlet, Leebotwood (5 mins drive)
Approaching Oaks Lodge along the gravel pathway with floor level LEDs
Returning to Oaks Lodge in the dark
Watching the fireworks over Church Stretton from the balcony/pathway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 170 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
angephill...
Mandurah, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A cosy retreat amongst the trees”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here in October 2015, and had a wonderful stay. The lodge is in a lovely location, well placed for restaurants and shops in the village, and also the Carding Mill Valley and the Long Mynd. Despite the great location, the lodge itself feels like it could be in the middle of nowhere. It really is a cosy retreat set amongst the oak trees and squirrels. The owners are a lovely family, and I really should apologise for taking so long to write this review. I have recommended this place to so many people. We loved it, and regret not staying longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise N
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful holiday let with an equally delightful host!”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Loved everything about our stay here. The hot tub is fab and the standard of décor in the lodge is even better. Even when we had an issue with the oven Sara went to the effort of cooking our food for us, delivering it and giving us complementary Prosecco!! Thanks for a great stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emma b
1 review
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Oaks was absolutely gorgeous, will definitely be returning it was so private and beautiful and Sara was a lovely host! After travelling to many places for a few days away this was definitely the best, it was absolutely perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissie...
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Did not want to go home!!”
Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is really once in a lifetime retreat away. While trying planning a romantic night away for my husband and myself I googled various romantic hideaways.

Little knowing that literally on our door step was this truly magical , amazing retreat.

Let me explain that literally a stones throw away in the Heart of Church Stretton is a wonderful romantic and beautifully done hideaway.
Not just any hideaway, a hideaway with amazing views,its own waterfall that runs under the lodge, huge extremely comfortable bed, lusciously comfortable sofa to snuggle up on, Tv with Netflix. Heated floor boards, Bathroom that you don't want to come out of with a shower to die for, Little gadgets that my husband found fabulous, Fire pit outside and not forgetting ( Leaving the best to last ) The glorious hot tub situated on the balcony overlooking the hills and at the perfect temperature. With a glass of Prosecco we were both in our complete and utter element. The only thing we could hear was the birds in the trees.

Our hosts Sara and Mark were great they made sure everything was right for us on arrival including rose petals on the bed and I can honestly say that I have never stayed in such a immaculately clean establishment.

All that's left to say is we could have travelled all of the Uk and further to try and find somewhere like Oaks retreat but lucky for us it is on our door step..

You will not want to leave, We have booked another night July and cant wait.

.
...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
x_alannah
Hessle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most amazing getaway I have ever had”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My friend stumbled across this beautiful gem by chance, and I'm so glad that she did! We decided that a couple of nights away would be a fantastic way to bring in the New Year (we stayed here over New Year's Eve) and The Oaks certainly did not disappoint.
We were greeted and welcomed by the lovely Sara, who treated us like family from start to end. I genuinely can't say enough about her warmth and hospitality.
The location and scenery are truly stunning, as the lodge Is nestled at the top of a valley landscape, with incredible panoramic views. Situated close to the house, the lodge is a short distance from many homes in the surrounding area, but maintains an air of complete privacy -- in fact, it feels like you're in a totally remote location, making it the perfect place to relax and unwind.
In terms of the lodge, this is the only place I have visited where the pictures genuinely do not do it justice. I was wowed by everything, from the beautiful walk up to The Oaks, to the comfy stupendously huge bed, heated floor, private waterfall (yes, you read that right!), and of course, the stunning hot tub.
My only complaint would be that 2 nights here just wasn't enough! If you want to escape the hustle and bustle, truly unwind, and have chance to explore the beautiful local area, I would recommend a longer booking. That said, a stay at The Oaks truly was the most perfect way to welcome 2016, as midnight chimed, myself and my best friend relaxed in the hot tub, watching fireworks light up the scenery.

Without a doubt, I would holiday here over a far-flung destination, any day.

Thank you ever so much for such a wonderful stay. We will definitely be back!
Alannah and Emma xxx

P.S. I only wish I could give you a higher rating!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing