We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull hospitality !”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Plough Inn is a beautifully restored comfortable and friendly country pub, nestling in the Shropshire Countryside midway between Much Wenlock and Church Stretton. You can be sure of a warm welcome during your visit, where you will find a great offer of home cooked seasonal foods, superbly nurtured cask ales and great wines all wrapped up in an ambiance second too none. The Plough Inn...A Traditional Ale House with Country Dining has something for everyone...Quirky & Interesting, Log fires & Nostalgia plus a great deal more and dogs are welcome with well trained owners.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We stopped at this pub on a ride out and couldn't have stopped at a better place. Rosemary and Chris where so warm and welcoming we felt as though we had known them for years, The complimentary potatoes where a really nice touch, thankyou for making us feel so welcome and I will definitely be coming back again. The pub oozes atmosphere. Ann













We s

Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwall14, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review us.

It was good meeting you both & we are really pleased you enjoyed your few hours with us. Impromptu can at times be most enjoyable as was the case.

Please do pop in again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Really lovely place. Great ale, food was awesome! Dog friendly and lovely staff. Really worth a trip to visit this place.

Thank IvorBiggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwall14, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Many thanks for your great review.

It was good meeting you both & we are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us.

If revisiting the area do pop in & say hello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

nice to see a large pub with a traditional bar as well as two larger dining areas. good atmosphere locals and staff very welcoming and barnaby the near newfie a considerable bonus :we ate the traditional friday fish and chips which my wife and I both thought was excellent and very well presented and the overall cost of food and drink wereless than the quality deserved

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwall14, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Really lovely meeting you both & many thanks for your great review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us & once again many thanks for your lovely review & a special thank you from Barnaby!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Well worth a visit, lovely atmosphere , good food and a very warm welcome. Looking forward to my next visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwall14, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Really pleased you found us & thanks so much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.

We also look forward to seeing you next time around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

From the moment we entered with Rosemary opening the door and greeting us as we carried our Twins and their various attachments in, till Chris came over and said hi and took photos, the day couldn't have been better, warm welcomes, fantastic atmosphere and surroundings and stunning food all contributed to a great experience. Our party was staggered over a period of 1 hour (My fault, well the twins.......) and this was taken in their stride. The pub was nice and busy with a lovely fire going and plenty of people enjoying the food as well as a jar or two. Genuinely couldn't recommend them highly enough.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulchappelluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwall14, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review.

It was really great meeting you all & we are pleased your Mothers Day celebrations were enjoyed by everyone in attendance...a lovely family indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 
Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 
Little Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing