We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Easter Break, Even the weather was good !”
other travellers have booked this property
Master bedroom - superking bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom - superking bed
New pavilion and sanctuary area View of farm and fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Master bedroom - superking bed
New pavilion and sanctuary area
View of farm and fields
The Barn open plan sitting and dining area
The master bedroom and ensuite
The Barn hallway
The Barn kitchen
Barn Double Bedroom
British Lop pigs on site
Soay sheep on site
Fishing lake available to all guests
Wild ponies on the Long Mynd
Outbuildings around the farm
Visit Ironbridge
Visit Bridgnorth
Cycling from the cottages
Sam and Chris to welcome you
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Trekker04...
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Easter Break, Even the weather was good !”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

An Easter break in the middle of the Shropshire countryside. Excellent location,easy walk to the village pub for good food, plenty of attractions in easy driving distance. Among other things we did Attingham Park, Acton Scott farm, where our Granddaughter loved sitting on the Shire Horses. Best of all the lovely cottage and Sam the owner who made our stay enjoyable. Probably one of the best equipped cottages we have ever stayed in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2017
Oh what a lovely review. Thank you so much for saying and I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay in Shropshire. Wishing you all the best and thanks again. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiseoldow...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Can't fault it - lovely accommodation, lovely setting, lovely hospitality! Lake, farm, walks, BBQ area all contribute to attractiveness! Many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for saying. Lovely to meet you and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Wishing you all the best. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect retreat from the chaos of work”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed in one of the cottages, which was beautifully presented and equipped. Our stay began with an entertaining scene of Sam and the kids chasing escaped rare breed pigs around the garden! The farm is ideally situated 10 minutes off the A49 in the middle of the fantastic Shropshire hills.
Sam is the perfect host, always happy and bubbly, the ideal person to spend time discussing the animals and her idyllic busy lifestyle with.
Great pubs nearby, the ideal place to relax and enjoy life.
Thank you Sam!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2017
You are both very kind. Thank you so much for writing and taking the time. What an entrance you had! It was a pleasure to meet you and I thoroughly enjoyed the chats. I wish you all the best for the future. Thank you again. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauljg91
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Really enjoyed our stay in the Barn, Middle Farm. Great location for exploring the Hills and lovely and quiet. We also bought some pork from Sam on the farm and it was delicious. The only real disappointment was the WiFi as although it was advertised on Tripadvisor it turned out the property doesn't have it's own WiFi. It wouldn't have bothered us but as it was advertised we were obviously expecting to have it. Regardless it was a great place to stay and we would definitely book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you all and glad you enjoyed your stay. I will certainly look into the wording on the Trip Advisor site regarding Wifi so that it reads the same as our own website ie. weak inside the cottages but available on site. Thank you again. All the best. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjs755
Wimborne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday Heaven”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have stayed at Gooseyard Cottage on three occasions now. Each time we have visited in a different season but the cottage was just perfect every time. It is well equipped and has the most comfortable bed that we have slept in. Middle Farm is also the home of some rare breeds of pigs and sheep which we loved seeing. You can also buy delicious sausages, pork and bacon if you want . The area has fabulous walks and there are also some very interesting towns and villages which make this is good holiday destination at any time of year. We particularly enjoyed walking to the local pub in the evenings. If you are looking for peace and quiet in lovely surroundings with a friendly and helpful host this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
It was really lovely to see you again and thank you for taking the time to write kind words on Trip Advisor. As always we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and wish you all the best. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing