We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning Scottish secret escape”
other traveller has booked this property
Mayar Bhan
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mayar Bhan
Mayar Bhan looking North to Assynt Mayar Bhan looking South
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Mayar Bhan
Mayar Bhan looking North to Assynt
Mayar Bhan looking South
Living Room
Conservatory #1
Upstairs Double Bedroom
View
Downstairs Double Bedroom
Living Room & Kitchen
Banana Bench
Upstairs twin bedroom
Conservatory #2
Kitchen
North West aspect
Sunset looking from the Patio
View from upstairs bedroom
Seaview
Gruinard Bay view
Mellon Udrigle Beach
Looking Upstairs
House Front
Mayar Bhan from high up
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
lucylarkm...
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning Scottish secret escape”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent a fantastic week in this wonderfully cosy, yet light and airy house. The view is beautifully breath taking and with the large deck and large garden, its the perfect set up. The house itself is well equipped with high quality furnishings and everything you could possibly need - there is really nothing that could be done better.
The location offers all you need for an active family holiday with stunning beaches and amazing scenery. Can't recommend enough but would prefer to keep it a secret! Would love to return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janem94
Fife, Scotland, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“have left a piece of my heart and soul there”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Neil, the owner of this beautiful house, was very friendly, helpful, responded quickly and provided detailed and knowledgeable information to all our communications.
The house was well equipped, comfortable, very warm (even on the dull/rainy days we had) and had fantastic views of the sea, islands and mountains. Pictures don't do the house or views justice.
The local post office/petrol station/shop was well stocked and exceedingly friendly.
The area provides an abundance of places to walk/run/cycle and visit and numerous places to eat.
Looking forward to returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm, comfortable house with fantastic views.
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peanut112...
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply super!”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

House is wonderful - obviously well looked after. The views are stunning. It was more expensive than we usually spend but we thought well worth it. The house was quality. We had a very sunny second week and boy the house was warm but we could open the windows and doors because no real midge issue - bliss!

It is an ideal base for the area. We took a boat trip from Ullapool to the Summer Isles and saw a pod of Dolphins wonderful. We would recommend this property and hope to return.

One down side and the only one, was that the downstairs bathroom has an over bath shower and therefore not very easy to use for anyone with mobility issues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and quality of house and that view!
Liked least: Over shower bath in downstairs en suite
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mufkit
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

When we arrived and could see through the house to the sea and sky beyond we knew this would be a special place. It was spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable and well equipped. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast on the deck outside with ever changing light and views and watched swallows taking their first flights from a nest under the balcony. We appreciated being able to put bikes undercover in the shed, the welcoming bottle of wine and tunnocks, and all the local information Neil had sent for us before arriving.

Mayar Bhan is in a perfect location for exploring this beautiful area and is always a pleasure to return to in the evening, just to sit with the views. Thank you Neil and we look forward to returning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudipbose
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect house in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Mayar Bhan is a superb holiday home, immaculately clean, spacious, beautiful, and with the best, well-equipped kitchen of any vacation house we've stayed in. It is the ideal base from which to explore this remote, idyllic, dramatically scenic part of Scotland. One week here was not nearly enough time spent. The quality of the seafood and the friendliness of every person we met--not to mention the splendid driving and walking that one can do--have us longing to return. And a note about the owner, Neil: I have never encountered a holiday home owner so helpful, prompt, informative, and easy to deal with. He helped make our time on the west coast of Scotland so memorable. Cannot recommend this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing