We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perect little cottage with a fantastic view!”
other travellers have booked this property
Can you resist waking up to this view? Relax here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&T
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can you resist waking up to this view? Relax here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&T
View from the cottage on a bright new year's day 2017 Imagine sitting here all day and watching the world go by - the view from the bench outside No4
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Can you resist waking up to this view? Relax here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&T
View from the cottage on a bright new year's day 2017
Imagine sitting here all day and watching the world go by - the view from the bench outside No4
Cottage No4 is the location for the BBC's new series Old Jack's Boat
And here is Bernard Cribbins as Old Jack coming out of the cottage in the morning
Where better for sitting out than on our bench on our new (fake) grass? The only lawn in the village
The cottage has a cosy, comfy traditional sitting room with an open fire and a stunning vie
Warm winter evenings watching telly in front of the fire
The bedroom in cottage No4
Artists regularly stay here. Zoom into the painting left of the window - it's of the bedroom it
Looking out of the bedroom window
The shower room
Looking over lobster pots - The Fishermen's Cottages from down on the Staith
The Fishermen's Cottages have been our family business for almost 15 years
Sunset over Cowbar Nab behind the Fishermen's Cottages
View from the cottage over Staithes beck at dawn
Sitting room
Where better to relax over afternoon tea?
View from the cottage which is on the left of the photo
Staithes is a higgledy piggledy bunch of houses tumbling down to the sea.
Sunset over Staithes looking north
View from our cottage - you don't need to go anywhere else
We are at 4 Cowbar Bank, Staithes TS13 5BZ.
They say this is one of the best views in England - the cottage is on the left above the bridge
Spot the cottage from the other side of the village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rod L
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Perect little cottage with a fantastic view!”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My wife and I were lucky enough to book this cottage for a 4 night trip to Staithes in December. Unfortunately, we had to leave our dogs in Canada, as they would have loved both the cottage and the town of Staithes. The cottage was perfect for us, the tiny but fully functional kitchen served us well for breakfast and a couple dinners. Before heading out to Europe to see family and friends for Christmas and New Years, we wanted some time to relax and get some sea side hiking in. I can't wait to stay here again, it was perfect in the late afternoon to put my feet up in front of the fire, read a few short stories about mutiny on the high sea, and enjoy the view with a glass of cider.

We loved the cottage, and will stay there again, hopefully with our terriers!!

The photos I took do not do it justice, the view is truly amazing, especially on a chilly day.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2017
Well, we couldn't put it better ourselves. SO delighted you enjoyed your stay - we are so lucky to be in that position in the village with that view to gaze at all day. DO please come again - we love dogs, particularly terriers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles A
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“super holiday”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Just has a 9 day break in this cottage which was clean and tidy on arrival The cottage comes with free wi-fi and storage heaters but has a warm open fire for those cosy nights in .It also has the best view out to sea in Staithes from the chair in the window and better still stunning views from the bench outside with free parking right outside the door big bonus for staithes the owners are allways improving the cottages and last year had a new roof on them and a total repaint outside. Its like old Jack said its the place to be and we are going back this year for another super holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
You are SO kind. Thank you for saying such lovely things. No cottage is perfect and we are always listening to guests and doing our utmost to make everyone's stay the best it can be. One thing that cannot be improved on - as you so rightly point out - is the view!!! We look forward to welcoming you back this April.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had to pay for electricity, shower very poor, slow and had no pressure at all,cooker took over one and half hours to steam vegetables,and only two channels worked on tv. Was not impressed with this place at all

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2016
Electricity is included in the rental price of the cottage as is heating, via the storage heaters. The cottages are warm and cosy, and guests shouldn't need to use the extra heaters but if they do there is a small charge which amounts to £2 or £3 for a full week. If you read our websites, listings and information file in the cottage, this is made very clear. Because we have parking outside, some guests plug in and charge their cars for the duration of their stay and we don't think it's fair to pass this cost onto everyone, hence the meters. The shower and cooker have since been checked and guests after you haven't reported any problems - although we have heard reports of low water pressure in the village at peak times.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteA7...
1 review
“Authentic lovly charming place to stay with a wonderful view”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We enjoyed our stay with the wonderful view and the cosiness in the cottage. It took us a little time to learn how to make a coal fire though.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
We are so pleased you came all the way from Sweden and loved the cosiness and charm of our cottage. We would love to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Janet...
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy Cottage and Stunning Views”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Had a lovely week here. Views from the cottage were great, weather even good enough to sit on the seat outside for coffee! Cottage had character and was very cosy. We will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2016
Do please come again. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We have tried to preserve the character and traditional spirit of Staithes in the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing