We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We love this place”
other travellers have booked this property
Can you resist waking up to this view? Relax here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&T
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can you resist waking up to this view? Relax here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&T
View from the cottage on a bright new year's day 2017 Imagine sitting here all day and watching the world go by - the view from the bench outside No4
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Can you resist waking up to this view? Relax here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&T
View from the cottage on a bright new year's day 2017
Imagine sitting here all day and watching the world go by - the view from the bench outside No4
Cottage No4 is the location for the BBC's new series Old Jack's Boat
And here is Bernard Cribbins as Old Jack coming out of the cottage in the morning
Where better for sitting out than on our bench on our new (fake) grass? The only lawn in the village
The cottage has a cosy, comfy traditional sitting room with an open fire and a stunning vie
Warm winter evenings watching telly in front of the fire
The bedroom in cottage No4
Artists regularly stay here. Zoom into the painting left of the window - it's of the bedroom it
Looking out of the bedroom window
The shower room
Looking over lobster pots - The Fishermen's Cottages from down on the Staith
The Fishermen's Cottages have been our family business for almost 15 years
Sunset over Cowbar Nab behind the Fishermen's Cottages
View from the cottage over Staithes beck at dawn
Sitting room
Where better to relax over afternoon tea?
View from the cottage which is on the left of the photo
Staithes is a higgledy piggledy bunch of houses tumbling down to the sea.
Sunset over Staithes looking north
View from our cottage - you don't need to go anywhere else
We are at 4 Cowbar Bank, Staithes TS13 5BZ.
They say this is one of the best views in England - the cottage is on the left above the bridge
Spot the cottage from the other side of the village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barbara H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

As said by previous reviews the cottage is cosy and has stunning views! The bench outside will be used constantly I'm sure! Parking a real bonus!! The cottage smelled beautifully clean when we arrived.
But have to say was disappointed on a few things - only one thin medium towel per guest to last a week ( if I had realised would have bought my own) no bin liner in the kitchen and would have forgiven the threadbare carpets & furniture,chipped lamps, dirty Windows etc had the bed been comfortable!
A lovely location but needs a little TLC.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2016
Thanks for your comments - we do always listen. It's been a long and busy season and we shall soon be able to spend time in the cottage ourselves and go through it with a fine-toothed comb. If things get broken and aren't reported by guests, it's easy for the housekeeper to miss them when she's cleaning inbetween. We are disappointed that some dog owners don't take a little more care ie the pulled threads on the sofa - but we are replacing that shortly. In the light of this we shall also be reviewing our pets policy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith W
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love this place”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I was checking the availability of this cottage for later this year and, oh, I was so disappointed to read the last review that I felt I must do a review myself - not something I normally bother with. This little cottage, in which we have stayed many times, and indeed just a few weeks ago, is the perfect place to stay in Staithes if you are a couple. It has a stunning view and is ideally placed to enjoy the essence and unique atmosphere that makes up Staithes. The last reviewer is correct, the kitchen is small but it is perfectly equipped and completely adequate for preparing and cooking meals in. In addition, it is cosy, on all our visits has been immaculately clean and welcoming, it has parking which is something of a bonus, and the owners could not be more helpful. What more can I say. We love this place! It lifts our spirits on each and every visit. We look forward to the next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness and location in the village, and view
Liked least: Nothing to dislike, but stairs slightly steep as you would expect in a cottage like this.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Everybody is welcome to their views but we are delighted to say we agree with yours! So do many other people - the cottage is booked and re-booked over and over. Thank you - and do visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
629poodle
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This cottage is so pretty, the location and the views are amazing. Staithes is a very friendly village and we will return, but not to this cottage.
On walking through the door cob webs could be seen hanging from the ceiling. The paint work looks tired and yellow, a new coat of paint is needed, inside and out.
The kitchen is so small, a sink, a hotplate, and a shelf with a microwave and toaster on. We only used it to boil the kettle for coffee as we ate out each night,the pub 'Cod &Lobster' does wonderful food and is very friendly.
If you plan to stay take pound coins for the electricity meter,and if you want an open fire as is shown take your own fuel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The shabbiness of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
Very glad you found that the cottage is so pretty and that the location and the views are amazing.

We are so sorry that you didn't notice that, as well as a hob and a microwave, the extremely small kitchen also has a grill/oven. The kitchen is indeed small but it's certainly big enough to conjure up a full Sunday roast, or - as last year's guests did - a full Xmas dinner with all the trimmings. Such a shame you somehow missed it.

Our booking website clearly spells out that we don't supply coal/wood, (our welcome pack tells you where to get it if you haven't brought it with) and also that there is a meter. Storage heating and power is included in the rental, the metered electricity (there for historic reasons) is a negligible sum.

We accept the exterior does need painting, the decorators are booked for the close season. One of the pitfalls of owning a cottage in a fabulous seaside location is the salty sea air which means the paintwork is constantly battling the elements.

If you saw cobwebs on arrival, we apologise. Spiders can work quickly, but the cottage will have been generally spotless and the bed linen freshly pressed because our housekeepers are, frankly, brilliant and we have had quite literally hundreds of testimonials complimenting them on their high standards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles A
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another week in paradise 6th august”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This fishermans cottage old jacks boat is the perfect place to stay and enjoy your holiday in staithes it was clean cosy and comfortable with views to die for from the armchair in the living room window and the bentch outside down the beck and out to sea with parking outside a big bonus for staithes with free wifi and heating from storage heaters to make your stay even better a open fire for those cosy nights in we will be comming back for another nice stay in old jacks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I am writing this from that very armchair overlooking the view and marvelling that however many times you experience it, just like Staithes, it always holds something new.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea123...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just stayed in no 4 old jacks cottage;my husband and I and our little doggie. we absolutely loved our stay.
The cottage was so cosy and spotlessly clean; the owners Jackie and Max have thoughtfully provided everything you could need and it felt like I was back in time staying at my grandma's house.
The bench outside is so welcome to sit and enjoy the fabulous views with a cuppa and the bed is so comfy; the shower was lovely and hot and I even managed to cook a few meals in the compact kitchen, although there is a great choice of local eateries on your doorstep. Parking get outside is a real bonus and we loved that we was away from the little high street and just had to cross the footbridge to enjoy the cobbled streets and local shops; beach and lovely pub the cod and lobster.
We will most definitely be returning and have already booked our next adventure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Delighted you're coming back - thank you for your lovely review, it's really the best endorsement. We have tried to furnish the cottage in a traditional way, keeping as much character as possible and preserving the spirit of old Staithes and its inhabitants. We delight in the view from the cottage every time we come down the hill and turn the corner - it really is one of the best views in the country.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing