We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful well equipped cottage with an excellent...”
other travellers have booked this property
The fabulous view from the conservatory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The fabulous view from the conservatory
Fox Cottage from St Alkelda's Road. Like much of the Dales we are on a hill! The kitchen with breakfast bar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The fabulous view from the conservatory
Fox Cottage from St Alkelda's Road. Like much of the Dales we are on a hill!
The kitchen with breakfast bar
From the kitchen to the sun lounge
View from the sun lounge at dusk.
The Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
The dining room which, like the sun lounge, leads out onto the balcony
View from the balcony between the dining room and sun lounge
Middleham, it's Castle and Wensleydale - no wonder Richard III loved it here!
Walking the dog by the River Ure 200m (downhill!) from Fox Cottage
From the drive to the front of the house in May
And for the dogs ...the side gate to the front garden.
...and the front garden.
The view from the bottom of the garden - the double bedroom is the bow window
A tour around the garden starting from the back door - this is enclosed.
The double bedroom with window onto back garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Middleham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
ANN B
2 reviews
“Beautiful well equipped cottage with an excellent location”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A beautiful cottage well equipped in an excellent location. Lovely garden - conservatory and separate dining room giving you a wide choice where to eat. Lovely bright lounge. Quiet neighbourhood.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The best equipped cottage I've stayed in and in such a beautiful location. Would appreciate a slightly larger TV in the sitting room. To avoid walking along the busy main road, you can reach the village by turning right up the hill then left through the paths into the village.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn G
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just got back from 3 nights at this delightful and surprisingly spacious cottage. Brilliantly located within 10 minutes walk into Middleham with choice of shops and 4 pubs. The cottage and the pubs are all dog friendly as indeed are the locals. The cottage is extremely well equipped and very well maintained. Beds are very comfy and the gardens are beautiful. A small decking off the sunroom is a wonderful sun trap and a very pleasant place to sit and relax with a glass of something cold, in my case wine.

The kitchen has everything you could possible need and it was refreshing to find quality cutlery and crockery as well as quality appliances. Fox Cottage was a last minute booking and not our first choice but it certainly will be our first choice for a return visit over the winter months. Well done Fox Cottage we had a great weekend and our pooch loved the enclosed garden and lying in the sunshine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was good
Liked least: There wasn't anything we disliked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F1family
1 review
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just come back from Fox Cottage and had a great time. This was our first cottage rental and I would definately book this cottage again. It was just outside the village so we could walk to the pub within ten minutes. Lots of little villages were only about 20 minutes away and after a full day out and about it was lovely to come back to such a well equipped, cosy cottage. It had everything you could think of and our dog Rosie loved being able to come away with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLawFam...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Fox Cottage over Easter and had a really lovely time. The cottage is situated in a perfect place within easy walking distance to the village square but I would add that if you have trouble walking up hills this is not the place for you. The cottage is really well equipped it seems Alison has thought of everything you need. The absolute bonus is to stay at such a nice cottage that allows dogs, our dogs made themselves at home straight away and seemed to enjoy the weekend as much as us! We all loved the beautiful walks we went on and were very lucky with the weather. We would definitely recommend and will hopefully be booking up again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing