We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely comfortable cottage in fascinating area”
other travellers have booked this property
The fabulous view from the conservatory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The fabulous view from the conservatory
Fox Cottage from St Alkelda's Road. Like much of the Dales we are on a hill! The kitchen with breakfast bar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The fabulous view from the conservatory
Fox Cottage from St Alkelda's Road. Like much of the Dales we are on a hill!
The kitchen with breakfast bar
From the kitchen to the sun lounge
View from the sun lounge at dusk.
The Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
The dining room which, like the sun lounge, leads out onto the balcony
View from the balcony between the dining room and sun lounge
Middleham, it's Castle and Wensleydale - no wonder Richard III loved it here!
Walking the dog by the River Ure 200m (downhill!) from Fox Cottage
From the drive to the front of the house in May
And for the dogs ...the side gate to the front garden.
...and the front garden.
The view from the bottom of the garden - the double bedroom is the bow window
A tour around the garden starting from the back door - this is enclosed.
The double bedroom with window onto back garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Middleham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
MRS M E S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely comfortable cottage in fascinating area”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My daughter, son in law and I really enjoyed our short stay and would love to return.The cottage was comfortable and had we been staying longer we would have lit the open fire.lots of friendly pubs in the village....wonderful place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Booking procedure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doodah56
leicester
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A real cracker”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had to postpone our holiday to Fox Cottage in June,but managed to get there this last week. It was certainly worth the wait.. The bungalow is very well equipped . and very clean. We had originally booked for the two of us, but our son and daughter in law had a baby last month so they took the opportunity of using the 'spare' bedroom. Cosy isn't the word.lovely and warm and comfy beds . Thank you for the bath robes, we forgot to take ours!! The new parents took the opportunity of a meal out, and left us to baby sit.. They liked the Richard 3rd. in Middleham We visited for lunch which was fine..Fox Cottage is in an excellent location. The drive is steep but not off putting...We also visited THe Priory Tea rooms in the village centre, which we thought was smashing and their pistachio and lime cake is to die for.. The area is a good base and although we aren't long distance walkers we managed about 5 miles every day.. Dont miss the Gallops, it's worth the effort especially, if like us you manage to get there on a clear bright morning.. We had a smashing holiday, and would really love to return, we would really love to sit on a summers evening in the conservatory.... bliss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many things to put down
Liked least: Coming home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micky H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage had everything you wanted,it location was ideal you could walk into the square in minutes and there where 4 bars there which also done great food

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the veiws
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I always enjoy going for a walk then dropping in to one of the pubs or the castle tea room on the way back to Fox Cottage .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzyLanc...
lancs
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“can't believe all reviews where true”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked this cottage for a weekend to visit family. We were pleasantly surprised on arrival as all the photos etc where spot on.The bungalow was clean with everything you could need for a holiday or short break the bed are very comfy. The bungalow is up a steep hill so not suitable for anyone with mobility problems but middleham is very hilly its self. I visited middle a lot as a child and was surprised that it also had a few more small shops and places to eat ect, the area is well place to visit a lot of the Yorkshire dales and then you are able to relax in fox cottage a true home from home. We are already planning a longer return visit early next year. Thank you to the owner for the use of your lovely home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: TV quite small for viewing. the drive very steep but we parked on road without problems.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
I'm so very glad you enjoyed your stay and found Fox Cottage up to scratch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huskyjunk...
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortale cottage with nice garden”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The house was lovely and relaxing with the added bonus of the garden, it was perfect for our 4 legged friend. It was well equipped with nice bedding and towels and Middleham is a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden area it was nice and private
Liked least: conservatory far to hot
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing