We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky and fun in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside
Exterior of the house Main Reception, now has two more sofas and an armchair added
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Outside
Exterior of the house
Main Reception, now has two more sofas and an armchair added
Library, on the gallery in Owners Suite
Owners suite with gallery - there is a futon on the gallery
Tower bedroom
Kitchen
bathroom in Owners Suite, has a great shower too
Guest review from our website
Middleham Castle is over the road from Yorkshire Dales House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Middleham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve M
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
576 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 903 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun in a great location”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We used the full capacity of the house with daughters, sons-in-law and grandchildren. Everyone enjoyed the quirky building - a former school complete with bell tower - and the garden was quite large enough for small children to let off steam. We parked 5 vehicles inside the gates without a problem.
Most of the conversion work, done in 2011 (I think) is good and workmanlike but there has been a bit of cheese-paring with the finishing touches in some areas. The light flimsy WC seats are loose and it can be somewhat disconcerting for adults and children when the seat suddenly slips sideways! The stair carpet is showing its wear badly and the fitting on the stairs and in some bedrooms looks a bit home-made.
Nevertheless, I great location for a family weekend, three pubs and the village store all within 50 yards. Everyone most helpful and friendly. We might do it again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge lounge and large more or less private garden
Liked least: Lots of stairs so not ideal for guests with impaired mobility.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshinei...
Dumfries
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“School days are happy days!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The School House was absolutely perfect for my hen weekend.

The house itself is gorgeous, unique, warm, huge, and very nicely furnished. The kitchen was really the heart of the home - much time was spent around the kitchen table with glasses (ok, bottles) of wine. The beds are comfy, the patio is great, and there's loads of parking.

We liked having so much space so guests can spend time together but also go and relax on their own or in groups if they want.

Everyone we dealt with in the village was incredibly friendly and helpful - Fairhurst's Bistro, Handley's Coaches, the local shop, and the various pubs.

Once again, a big thank you to Steve, Daiva and Alex (who met us when we arrived and was very sweet). Nothing was too much trouble - early check in when there wasn't a group in the day before, switching the heating and hot water on before we got there. All good. A very special place for a 'once in a lifetime' gathering.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique architecture and the space. The flexibility of zip-link beds. Wish every holiday property had this!
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jan 2014
Many thanks, it really is great that the village is so good too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rachael O
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic house in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Spent a week at this amazing property with sisters, partners, 4 kids and parents. We absolutely loved it - the house has a great feel to the place, and was brilliantly equipped with all that we needed. We loved Midleham itself - and watching the horses go by every morning - a nice change from the sirens of London! Steve McCann, the owner was extremely helpful, as were the neighbours at the Priory. We were all sorry to leave and that we had not discovered it before now! A better house would be hard to find for a large group. Sad for us it is on the market, so who knows how long it will remain available but we booked in again for a week next year within half an hour of leaving!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole shebang
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
Thank you, it has been wonderfully reviewed for three years now off Trip Advisor, thank you for adding to our reviews in this system.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner is very friendly and always contactable...bedrooms set up however you require.
Liked least: Always want to return
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing