We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for a room above a pub.”
Review of The Bottle Kiln

The Bottle Kiln
Ranked #3 of 5 Quick Bites in Harwich
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

First time I have stayed in a J D Wetherspoons Hotel/pub. Will confess I am a lover of J D Wetherspoons philosophy and appreciate their establishments nationwide. A value for money for the consumer. This place is great, the room I was in was upstairs above the bar 109. Very well furnished with iron & board and hairdryer, snazzy bedside lights, spacious, comfy chair , roomy shower and toilet, most of all very clean couldn't fault it. Tea/coffee & biscuits & kettle. Security is good, you need the key card to pass to get through two doors before you get to your room. There is a lift, you need a key card to operate , to access the rooms. The staff are extremely pleasant and welcoming. 100 yds from the seafront.The pub, typical J D Wetherspoons.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Yorkshireman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BottleKiln, Manager at The Bottle Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you for such a positive review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and would welcome you back any time. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2018

Had breakfast there one day during a recent visit - what a wonderful job they have done with the building. The photos of the staff in the drapery dept of the old Co-op (girdles displayed on the top shelf behind the counter - imagine wearing one of them all day!) were of great interest to me, my grandmother and step great aunt worked there before the war.

The food and drink is at the usual ‘spoons prices and standards - we’ll definitely be back next time we’re in Harwich!

Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BottleKiln, Manager at The Bottle Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

We are glad you enjoyed your visit, we do take such pride in in our establishment. We look forward to having you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

One of the better Weatherspoons . Plenty of space between tables with good atmosphere.
Food was as advertised, arrived promptly served by efficient friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BottleKiln, Manager at The Bottle Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you very much for your positive response, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Easy to park outside. Not crowded but a nice buzz. Able to order food with the weather-spoons app so it was quick and easy. The food arrived quickly and was super hot on warmed plates. The service was delivered with a smile and all for a great price. Great budget pub food in good sized portions! The gammon was great and my dad enjoyed a pint and an all day breakfast while mum went for a veggie lasagne

Thank manstondrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BottleKiln, Manager at The Bottle Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Thank you for the positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit in all aspects and you will visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Great Choice
Room and food were all very good. Nice to have an easily controllable walk in show! The staff were friendly and efficient. Book with confidence.
I think it worth mentioning that four of the rooms have a ceiling window in a "shaft". (The velux window and blind is electrically controlled.) If you would prefer a standard window it might be worth mentioning at time of booking.
Many thanks for and enjoyable stay.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pav372017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BottleKiln, Manager at The Bottle Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you for such a positive review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and would welcome you back any time. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Bottle Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing