We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
85
41
13
9
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
41
13
9
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub great addition tea and coffee sky light fast service decorated lovely huge tv complimentary bottled water iron and ironing board new venture brilliant service great walk in shower cheap drinks visited this establishment ordering food seaside town quick lunch
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Took my family for Saturday lunch.we all enjoyed our meals.wich had been ordered using the on line system. Very quick and efficient service. Nice polite staff.I have to say the only down fall here is that the tables are generally mucky. But today a young lady was busying herself keeping them spotlessly clean.An all round lovely afternoon. My grandson had a the chocolate brownie for dessert.wich was extremely nice.may order that for ourselves on our next visit. Love the range of drinks I generally try something different each time I go there.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Christina sophi... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BottleKiln, Manager at The Bottle Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. All of your comments are greatly appreciated.

Along with your grandson, I can also personally recommend the chocolate brownie haha.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

I was so impressed with The Bottle Kiln. I booked it on the recommendation of relatives. Our family room was huge with large comfortable beds. It also had air conditioning and you'd never know there was a pub downstairs. Complementary water, biscuits, tea and coffee etc. The staff are all very friendly, polite and nothing is too much trouble. The decor throughout the hotel and pub is lovely. Everything is spotlessly clean. We ate lunch, dinner and breakfast at The Bottle Kiln and couldn't fault the food or the service. There's a large choice on the menu, too. Would definitely stay here again and it's an excellent location for the beach and Old Harwich. Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: We had a lovely family room 104. It was quiet and overlooked the car park.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BottleKiln, Manager at The Bottle Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hi,

Many thanks for your review and rating. We are very happy to hear that you were so pleased with all aspects of your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about the staff which is particularly pleasing to read and will be communicated back to them.

We hope that you do choose to stay with us again and you will be warmly welcomed.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Excellent, reasonably-priced beer, food, breakfast. Cheerful, efficient staff. Large, spotless, fully equipped room with air conditioning (which worked) and remote controlled window blinds. I read some reviews bemoaning the “noisy pub”. You book a room at Wetherspoon’s and complain that there’s a pub!? I never heard a peep from my room. Thoroughly recommend this place. I checked out with a few others, singletons and families; all very complimentary.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank thelateian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BottleKiln, Manager at The Bottle Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you so much for your "five spoon" review! ;-)

We really appreciate your feedback, thank you, and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed a peaceful night's stay.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days and had an accessible room as my husband is disabled. It was like home from home, there was everything that he could possibly need. the staff were excellent and went over and above their call of duty, nothing was to much trouble. Wetherspoons should be very proud of this hotel and its staff. Thankyou once again for everything.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BottleKiln, Manager at The Bottle Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you very, very much for your kind words Maggie, we are so happy to hear that you were well looked after by our team.

We hope that you will return to The Bottle Kiln again in the future, where you and your husband will be warmly welcomed.

Best wishes to both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

The bottle kiln is a Weatherspoon Hotel and fulfils the services of a Weatherspoons flat out all day. You can't beat their breakfasts for value. When we arrived day one we had a quick lunch. We were the shown our rooms. These are faultless, well thought out, clean and large. The were over a pub and on the road side but we had no noise problems. Security is also very thorough as you don't want pub patrons stumbling by or in the corridor. We would definetly stay here again. The only thing not giving it a 5 is that every table we went to for our breakfast, lunch or for a drink, needed clearing and wiping first. The pub needs to improve this, as a chain not just the Bottle Kiln.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Stuart Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BottleKiln, Manager at The Bottle Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hi,

thanks for your review.

Thanks for your feedback about our hotel, it is pleasing to hear that you found the rooms to be faultless and that you were satisfied with the high level of security. Glad you enjoyed the food too.

Thanks also for your feedback about the tables, we will continue to work on this.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews