We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, quaint and value for money”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious living room with log-effect stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with log-effect stove
Plenty of room to relax Gas log-effect stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Spacious living room with log-effect stove
Plenty of room to relax
Gas log-effect stove
Large dining table
All modern appliances in the kitchen
5-foot double bed
Galleried bedroom
Bath with fixed overhead shower
Owners' cottage on left, The Forge in centre and The Lodge on right
The garden at Bedford Cottage
Buckland Monachorum village
The Drake Manor 200m away - good food and ale
The village church
Walk from The Forge onto the Moor
Miles of moorland to explore
More ponies
Riverside walks
Climb a tor
Admire the view
Enjoy a cream tea
Walk around Burrator Reservoir
Postbridge
Loads of walks with fantastic scenery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Comfortable, quaint and value for money”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Located in rural setting with access to pubs and relatively local shopping. car rides to parks and river paths , towns and theatre. Pet friendly.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane P
Brighton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another lovely relaxing and comfortable break”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our fourth visit to Bedford Cottage, and it was as excellent as ever. Lovely, comfortable cottages, very friendly and helpful hosts, a good local pub, and so many wonderful places to visit and things to do in the surrounding area. We'll be back as soon as possible.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage for two”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is the second time we have stayed at Bedford Cottage, our first stay being at the Lodge, and this time at the Forge. The Forge is a delightful cottage with all the comforts we required to make our stay enjoyable. Andrew and Carol are lovely hosts and keep both the Lodge and the Forge immaculate. As keen walkers, there are some excellent walks from the doorstep of the Cottage both on moorland and by the riverside. We will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronadavie...
Central Hungary, Hungary
1 review
“Home from home - extremely comfortable”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Beautiful, well-appointed character cottage. Our hosts, Carol and Andrew, couldn't have made us more welcome, and we would love to stay there again. Will certainly recommend it to family and friends who want to stay in a beautiful country village near Dartmoor.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tallhouse
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing stay in a delightful cottage.”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Set in the pretty village of Buckland Monachorum, The Forge is a most comfortable cottage for 2, beautifully equipped and extremely comfortable. The friendly owners, Carol and Andrew, welcomed us and showed us round, and there was plenty of helpful information available in the cottage. Although the weather wasn't very good during our four night stay, we were warm and comfortable, and well situated to explore Plymouth and the surrounding countryside. We would certainly like to come again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing