We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Lodge, Buckland Monachorum - Perfect centre...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge
Sunny  patio Comfortable and light sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
The Lodge
Sunny  patio
Comfortable and light sitting room
Matching sofas
Log effect stove
Fully fitted kitchen
Internal view to bedroom
Two 3-foot zip and link beds to create a large double, or two separate single beds
Internal view from bedroom
Large walk-in shower
Owners'  cottage on left. The Forge in centre and The Lodge on right
The Drake Manor 200m away - good food and ale
The village church
Walk onto the Moor from the Lodge
Miles of moorland to explore
Uninterrupted moorland
Take a break to soak up the scenery
Visit the ancient clapper bridge at Postbridge
Enjoy a local cream tea
Loads of footpaths to explore
And riverside walks
Or walk around Burrator Reservoir
Admire the moorland ponies
Parking in front of The Lodge is on reinforced grass
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roger L
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Lodge, Buckland Monachorum - Perfect centre for touring Devon/Cornwall”
Reviewed 1 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

The Lodge was very cosy, comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Situated in an idea location for walking and touring this lovely area. Received a warm welcome from Carol and Andrew who were very helpful hosts. Ideal village location with a lovely pub right on your doorstep. We have a wonderful stay with glorious weather. We covered the coast from the Rame Peninsula to the South Hams and Dartmoor.

Would thoroughly recommend this lovely accommodation.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisgE24...
Alicante, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb roomy clean one bedroom in the heart of the village”
Reviewed 27 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The cottage is fantastic and the owners are lovely and super helpful. We had a fabulous time here. Off street parking is a real bonus. The apartment is spacious and warm & relaxing. You'll have a great time.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacatione...
1 review
“A super, comfortable cottage in a lovely village location”
Reviewed 17 August 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing week in this comfortable, well-equipped cottage, with its supersize bed, and had hot sunny weather, (well, and a bit of much-needed rain) Because we love walking it is an ideal base in the centre of this small attractive village, as there are country walks on the doorstep and Dartmoor only minutes away by car. Everything you could need is not far away, the Drake pub across the road serves decent food and everyone we met was really friendly. We would especially like to thank Archie the terrier for making our dogs holiday extra special! and of course Carol and Andrew for their warm welcome, making us feel so at home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaretc...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Lodge at Bedford Cottage - An excellent base for exploring Dartmoor/Devon”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a really lovely stay last week. The cottage was very comfortable, extremely clean and our hosts Andrew and Carol couldn't have been more helpful. The village of Buckland Monachorum is very nice and anyone we encountered couldn't have been more friendly. The cottage is a great base to visit any of the Devon resorts or travel into Dartmoor. Really relaxing week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little property in a small village, with a pub just up the road.”
Reviewed 21 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Buckland Monachorum is a lovely little village on the edge of Dartmoor. Peaceful but ideal for touring the area. The property is extremely well appointed, sparkling clean and with everything that might possibly be needed for a self catering holiday. The owners, Andrew and Carol couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Thoroughly recommend The Lodge at Bedford Cottage and I hope we will stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing