We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveller rating
352
203
102
44
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
203
102
44
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wildflower restaurant cream tea balcony room dartmoor ponies afternoon tea lovely hotel beautiful setting wedding reception main course valley suite buffet style wedding venue dog friendly hotel an overnight stay waiting staff both nights course meal
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 723 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Used as a B&B launch pad to everything nearby, we found the hotel to be perfectly suited. Located on the edge of the moor and away from any main road, the Moorland is a gem for a chillax.

Bed, linen, pillows, towels - all first class. Room and ensuite, although looking a little sad, were very clean and tidy. Very good shower.

Staff: Excellent
Buffet breakfast: Very good
Plenty of parking.
Good strength Wi-Fi.

Highly Recommended !

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Betsythehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear Alan F,

Thank you very much for such a positive review, great to see you were able to have a peaceful time and that we ticked so many boxes for you.

Do come beck when you next want some R & R!

Kind regards,

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a long weekend break with friends, staying at Moorland Garden Hotel on an inclusive deal with breakfast and dinner. Very good value, and a lovely dining room overlooking the garden.The food was excellent. A relaxing bar/ lounge too. Our room was fine, if just a little tired in the decor department, however it was clean and comfortable and lovely white fluffy towels. We had a balcony to relax on which was a bonus as the weather was beautiful. Lovely grounds in a glorious setting on the edge of Dartmoor. The staff were all really friendly and seemed as if they all enjoyed working there. Kitty was a delight. If anyone is looking for a dog friendly hotel you won’t go far wrong choosing this hotel as they love four legged visitors!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 953paulinej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear Pauline J,

Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. It was a real pleasure to see how much you enjoyed your time and found us such good value for money. It is good to have an indication of where we need to start planning our winter freshening up work - we will have the paintbrushes ready for the off season.

I was especially delighted to see how content you found the staff and how friendly they were. We do go out of our way to develop this ethos. Kitty will be pleased to ear she has been mentioned!

Thank you again and hopefully we will see you here again soon.

kind regards,

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

We went on a week day, mid afternoon. The staff were nice and polite. We ordered two cream teas.The scones were just out of the oven....delicious, light and crispy. We were given tons of jam and Cream, good for the waistline! There was plenty of tea, they topped up the hot water. BUT...there are dog bowls and dog treats around, with dog hair on the dirty carpet. Also there is a faint smell of dog as you enter the restaurant. We have nothing against dogs but where food is served they should be outside. So...although the cream tea is good we would not go back.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TWEEDY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear TWEEDY5

Thank you for your review, my apologies for the delay in this response, my first attempt seems to have got lost in the vastness of the internet.

I was very pleased to see how much you enjoyed the service and the cream tea - our scones are a particular speciality! I do apologise for the dog hair you saw, we do welcome dogs in the bar and lounge as so many people do like to bring their four legged friends out onto Dartmoor. We do clean all our public areas frequently so this may have been between opportunities to get the vacuum out. This is one of our older carpets that does have some permanent marks on it but we are looking at ways to get around this, thank you for the reminder to move this up the agenda!

Our restaurant is always a dog free zone (apart from assistance dogs) as like you we agree that formal eating and pets don't go together.

I do hope that your memory of the delicious scones will outweigh the other factors and you will decide to come again.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Kind regards,

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Hotel in the country a mile away from Yelverton in its own grounds with easy parking. Bedrooms with en-suites well worth the money which includes a very good English breakfast as much as you liked. We stayed three nights and eat in . Again food and service very good, we were served coffee on the veranda overlooking the vast lawn. From the time we walked into the reception to paying our account ALL the staff were great. Going again.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank websites471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear websites471,

Many thanks for your very kind review following your stay with us recently, I was very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay and how well my team looked after you. It is always great to get a review like yours and it is really helpful for the staff.

We look forward to seeing you here again very soon!

Kind regards,

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Gorgeous gardens and scenery with very friendly staff. The breakfast in the morning was lovely and we enjoyed watching the sheep trot about on the road. The food was delicious and we are excited to come back here and stay again for a friends wedding.
The bathroom particularly stood out for me, the design was lovely.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Nat L,

Thank you for your very kind review, I was really pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay, especially the gardens and the staff interactions. I will certainly pass on your comments on the breakfast to the chef and his team.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Jenkins,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews