We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing cream tea and hot chocolate!”

The Gateway Tea Room & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 11
Description: Breakfasts, light lunches, all day hot snacks and traditional cream teas served on vintage china in a delightful ancient building in a bustling Dartmoor village.
Restaurant details
Description: Breakfasts, light lunches, all day hot snacks and traditional cream teas served on vintage china in a delightful ancient building in a bustling Dartmoor village.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for cream tea in the Easter holidays - we were 2 couples with 4 toddlers and the owners couldn't have been more accomodating. They offered a high chair and gave the kids books to play with.
The food was superb. Definitely the best cream tea we have had in Devon. Their bowl of hot chocolate with marshmallow and cream was a hit with everyone. My kids got scrambled eggs on toast which were heavenly. wish I had asked what eggs they used as they were a beautiful orange colour and tasted so full of flavour.
What a friendly place to visit - we are on holiday from the North East but when we are back in Devon we have all said we MUST come back here, it was the best food and service we have had all week :-)

Thank 2marshallsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieCollard, Owner at The Gateway Tea Room & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

It was a pleasure to look after you! Thank you so much for your lovely review, and we hope you will visit again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

My wife and I came here for lunch and we were very warmly welcomed.
Although the cafe is small it has a very warm and cosy feel with a fantastic selection of food and cakes.
The quality of service was excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gerard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieCollard, Owner at The Gateway Tea Room & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

We’re very glad you enjoyed your visit, and appreciate you sharing your comments - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is a nice traditional tearoom , The menu has plenty of Gluten Free options available, They also offer a variety of Dairy Free milks .
Today we only wanted coffee and cake , I went for a coconut milk latte and a piece GF carrot cake which was really nice and moist .
Hope to visit again for lunch .

Thank DANDGFREEQUEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieCollard, Owner at The Gateway Tea Room & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to post your kind review - yes, please come again for lunch...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Delightful! The quintessential cottage tearoom oozing character and set in delightful Dartmoor town Moretonhampstead. Here you will be warmly welcomed to the treat that awaits. Food is locally sourced where possible and freshly prepared or baked on the premises. An imaginative range of sandwiches, rolls, salads and soups, but my visits have all been for the outstanding cream teas… a variety of freshly baked scones with rich clotted cream and a choice of jams, served on bone china. Remember - cream first (you are in Devon) and it’s rude to leave any.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pipsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieCollard, Owner at The Gateway Tea Room & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, and apologies for not responding sooner. We have spent the winter renovating our roof, and only recently re-opened. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

What a wonderful place to stop for a drink! It was beautiful and cosy inside and we received a warm welcome and shared a lovely chat with Sam and Laurie during our coffee. Next time we'll make sure to enjoy an afternoon tea with scones or cake. Thank you both

Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieCollard, Owner at The Gateway Tea Room & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thank you for your review (though it was a while ago); we have only recently re-opened after the winter. I do hope you will visit again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gateway Tea Room & Cafe also viewed

Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
 
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Gateway Tea Room & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing