We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Something for everyone”
other travellers have booked this property
Curlew Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Curlew Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
1.5 acre coarse fishing lake, with carp (common, mirror and ghost), rudd, roach, perch and bream. All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Curlew Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
1.5 acre coarse fishing lake, with carp (common, mirror and ghost), rudd, roach, perch and bream.
All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside
All beds are made with crisp white Egyptian-cotton linen.
Curlew Lodge living room is practical and with lake views from the large patio doors to the balcony.
Curlew has a fully-accessible wet room featuring a roll-in power shower, grab rails & lever taps
Curlew kitchen includes a washer/dryer, dishwasher, cooker, microwave and fridge/freezer
Lodges have covered porches where you can store bikes, surfboards,fishing kit and mobility equipment
Each lodge has a private balcony.
The 11m x 5m indoor heated swimming pool (open April to October) has a South-facing sunbathing deck
Our Games Room offers a comfortable space to relax in inclement weather.
There is a snooker table and TV in the Games Room to enjoy in the evenings.
There is plenty to do in the Games Room, including a book, DVD and games library.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashwater, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Su F
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a lovely few days over Easter at Curlew for my Mum's birthday .. on the rainy days it was warm and cosy and on the one sunny day we had (Mum's birthday), we enjoyed brunch on the balcony with lovely views of the lake, countryside and daffodils. The cottage met all our needs as we were travelling with my Dad who has limited mobility. Curlew was clean and spacious and Karen was very welcoming and thorough with showing us around, plus how lovely it was to have a cream tea waiting for us. I enjoyed the pool for a quiet dip on one of the evenings and we checked out the games room which was very well equipped - something for everyone. We definitely plan to come back. Thank you :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it was on one level and easy for my Dad.
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back to Blagdon Farm at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chellefis...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday venue”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Amazing clean and spacious cottage, fantastic views, quiet and very relaxing. Our son loved the games room great to chill after a day out seeing the sights that Devon has to offer. Very friendly and helpful hosts, would highly recommend Blagdon Farm!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane F
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent clean accommodation in wonderfully quiet location with good accessibility for the disabled.”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in Curlew which was spotlessly clean and Karen and Ian had left a bottle of Champagne, mince pies and home made apple juice. The lodge was decorated with a tree. Our son is disabled and we hired a hoist through Karen and Ian which was perfect. The bathroom worked really well for a disabled person. Bude is only about 15 mins away and is accessible as is Widemouth Bay. We are already booked in again in July/ August 2016.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaBys...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb holiday”
Reviewed 18 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We have just returned from an excellent week at Blagdon Farm. I went with my girlfriend and our nine year old daughter. The accommodation was of a very high standard and exceedingly comfortable. The swimming pool was a real added bonus, our daughter enjoyed at least one daily swim. Ian and Karen were exceedingly hospitable without being intrusive. We were the only guests on site and despite this they offered to open the bar for us. They uncovered the swimming pool for us whenever we requested. Unfortunately due to the weather we did not get to try out the fishing but could hear the fish feeding from our balcony. The games room is well equipped and was open daily for our use.

Blagdon Farm is well situated for day trips to the beach, Eden Project, Dartington Crystal, The otter sanctuary and butterfly farm at Buckfastleigh and also Bodmin Prison. We would highly recommend Blagdon Farm to everyone, it is an idyllic and restful corner.

We will definitely be returning to Blagdon Farm and would heartily recommend it at as lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings and the knowledge that the owners were available if required but did not appear on the doorstep every day.
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris o
worcester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Took my son here for aweeks holiday,
The place is amazing everything you read about, and pics you see are are real. Lodge we stayed in was spotless, and had every home comfort, games room, and pool, and football area were amazing especially if you have a boy whose football mad. Ive already paid a deposit to return next year cant wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing