We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Padstow”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Basement

The Basement
Ranked #8 of 87 Restaurants in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 65
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Basement is built within 'The Drang', a small shopping area on the Quay, and has fantastic views overlooking the Harbour. The Basement has a comfortable inside seating area and a superb newley refurbished alfresco seating area with Harbour Views. It is a great place to eat, drink and socialise in a relaxing environment. If you wish to start your day with a Breakfast, Morning coffee and Cake or prefer to relax inside or outside with a glass of Wine or Beer with our Lunch or Evening Menus then we look forward to seeing you. Click 'Details' for more info and photos.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best in Padstow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our favourite place to eat in Padstow , food excellent and the owner and his staff second to none, if you can get a table outside the view of the harbour is stunning.
I can’t say enough good things about this place either for lunch, dinner or just a coffee it’s the place to be.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,163
    328
    68
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“1st Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Not our first visit, but it's such good value that we were looking forward to a nice night out on Valantine's day. As always great food, wonderful service and excellent value.

i can't wait for the weather to warm up so I can start cycling to the basement in the summer.
looking forward to seeing you soon.
Thank you.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank motley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Superb food, at reasonable price, great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We ate here on their first day opening after their Winter break - and it was excellent. Superb food, with excellent service, and reasonably priced wines.
We enjoyed three courses, with a bottle of wine, and came away not feeling utterly stuffed.... but really impressed with the quality of the food - simply delicious and reasonable. We paid £74 for 2 including tip.
We will be back!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePughs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stumbled into The Basement for lunch on a cold and drizzly December day & I can now see why the place has such good reviews. High quality local ingredients are cooked almost infront of you - the sausage sandwich was fantastic! We'll be returning to Padstow soon and will be sure to go for dinner. A great find.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This was our third year on the trot for a NYE meal at the Basement and I have say yet again we weren't disappointed!. Even though it was a set meal they still offered us a variation to one or two of the mains. Great little restaurant very cosy. Booked again for 2012.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Basement also viewed

Padstow, Cornwall
 

Been to The Basement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing