We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Up to the usual standard. No surprise there!”
other travellers have booked this property
Leat Cottage stands in a peaceful courtyard setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Leat Cottage stands in a peaceful courtyard setting
Blooming fuchsias Flowers cascading over the front garden wall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Leat Cottage stands in a peaceful courtyard setting
Blooming fuchsias
Flowers cascading over the front garden wall
Relax in the spacious sitting room
Bright room for all the family
Keep an eye on the children playing in the courtyard!
Pretty twin bedroom
Second twin bedroom
Modern family bathroom
Modern en suite shower room in the double bedroom
Spacious and peaceful double bedroom
Ground floor double bedroom
Enjoy your meals in the bright conservatory
Conservatory overlooking the private rear garden
Rear view of Leat Cottage
Well-equipped kitchen with hand-made fitted cupboards
Relax on the terrace
Secluded garden with views to the West
Views over unspoilt farmland
Fitted kitchen adjoining the sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wadebridge, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
turvycat
North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Up to the usual standard. No surprise there!”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have stayed in this and two of the other cottages on this site a number of time throughout the late 1990s to the present. We love Cornwall and especially the North Coast. Hawksland Mill makes a great base for exploration of the whole county. It is far enough from the main road to be quiet and close enough to be convenient. Padstow and Wadebridge are not far away and offer plenty of choice for shopping and exploring. We tend to plan on a day-by-day basis, taking the weather into account and the location of the cottage allows for great flexibility.

Leat Cottage is a three bedroom property sleeping up to six with a double on the ground floor and two twin bedrooms upstairs. The double has an en-suite and there is a downstairs toilet and a house bathroom upstairs. Everything is well maintained and this year looks to have been recently redecorated. The decor is traditional cottage feel but very well executed and very well specified. Pretty much everything is thought of by Richard and Jane and as we arrived Richard was fitting a WiFi signal booster so the cottage has now got a strong WiFi signal (this has been an issue in the past). The view out of the conservatory dining room is out to the west and on a good day you can see the sea (trust me - you can! It's there. Between the land and the sky!).

We would thoroughly recommend this cottage complex to friends, family and everyone in fact! I can't think of anything to criticise and we have never been disappointed in all the times we have been (except in 1999 when we stayed here for the total solar eclipse and it was cloudy - but that was nothing to do with the property. I blame the Met Office!)

I have said that this cottage is suitable for people with disabilities and I can say this from experience. The only caveat would be wheelchair access which I cannot comment upon. I'm sure that Richard can advise on whether this is possible.

We will be back I'm certain. It is one of those places that once you have discovered it, nothing else is quite good enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
We are pleased to now have installed wifi internet access points in our cottages and signal strengths of the maximum five bars are available.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBP297...
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was a return visit and like the previous one there was very little to complain about,
a) Location is quiet but accessible main highway 500 yards down the lane, Padstow 15 minutes.
b) The cottage was well equipped with good quality items everything you need for a cottage holiday.
c) Ample easy parking.
d) Friendly owners.
There is a book of words as I refer to it, of do's and don'ts, many of which are not necessary.
The two items I feel that are not necessary and can should be included in the price is electricity and towels the cost of these could easily be built into the price.
The Wi-Fi was poor and can be improved and is important as mobile phone signal is not good.
Summing up Great property, great location with a couple of changes would make it perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Quality and the friendliness of the owners
Liked least: Having to strip the beds before we left
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Our cottages are self catering! -many guests appreciate the option to use their own towels to reduce costs.
We also offer the free service of meter reading as otherwise overall electricity costs would be averaged and 'careful users' would be subsidising 'non-careful' users.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A fantastic place to stay! Mr &Mrs Jenkins are so friendly and obviously work hard to keep the cottages and gardens to a very high standard. Spotlessly clean, with excellent facilities, everything you need for a comfortable stay. I have never stayed in such a pristine holiday home, with such wonerful surroundings. We would love to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely, comfortable and exceptionally clean
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karinda1
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing setting and property. Will re visit for sure”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lest cottage at Hawksland Mill is both a beautiful property and location, very friendly to the environment with solar panels and even an electric generating windmill. Jane and Richard have put everything into these holiday homes to make your stay perfect. They have thought of quite literally everything inside and have beautifully cared for extras for your stay. Ie; cot, high chair, stair gates even a BBQ.
The gardens and surrounding grounds are also well manicured. Just beautiful.
I only have 2 negative comments to make and that's the additional charge for electric that I have never experienced before, although small, only £21.12 for 2 weeks and in the manual, the cleaning guidelines on departure.
Don't get me wrong, I always tidy up before leaving any property, but when paying £1950 for a 2 week stay I think these were unnecessary. I do appreciate cottages / holiday homes need to be turned around for next visitors, but all the same. Stripping beds and cleaning Windows of toddler finger prints etc..... Again, a small negative and not a complaint.
Lovely holiday, lovely cottage, lovely location, lovely owners and would definitely return.
Thank you for a super holiday

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
We always appreciate feedback. We operate a green policy with regard to energy useage which the guest pays for energy consumed, as this positively discourages energy wastage. The electricity rates which we pay to our energy supplier are passed on to the guest at the same extremely competitive rates.
We frequently receive requests from our guests to arrange to occupy our cottages earlier than the check-in time and the co-operation of the departing guest to strip their beds assists in the overall policy adopted to help with the travel timetable of arriving guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBP297...
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a Week”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a fantastic place, all looked after by the owners who are on site so no worries about agents, first class service. The property is well appointed outside Padstow so nice and quiet away from the hustle and bustle, it is truly a magnificent property no second hand furniture like many holiday properties everything is of a high standard and quality very comfortable indeed. Although electricity and towels are extra the cost is not excessive and again quality comes to mind. It is most definitely somewhere I will go back to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the owner and location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing