We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BEAUTIFUL, COMFORTABLE, LOVELY, A perfect cottage...”

Review of Merrydown Cottage

The cottage and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage and garden
Living room Living room window to garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The cottage and garden
Living room
Living room window to garden
Wood-burning stove in living room
Dining room towards kitchen
Dining room and stairs
Kitchen
Kitchen window seat and Rayburn
Bedroom 1 with view to garden
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 with window to front
Garden view from Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 window to garden
Bedroom 3
Bathroom
Patio with seating
The large garden
Garden with view to church
Village stores and Post Office
Village centre and the St Mabyn Inn
Dining room window to garden
St Mabena church
Padstow harbour
Constantine Bay
Port Isaac
Rock beach
Delford Bridge, Bodmin Moor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wadebridge, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lollypops...
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL, COMFORTABLE, LOVELY, A perfect cottage in a wonderful spot”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We arrived late at night in the middle of a storm and we grateful to find all the heating on, the log basket full and a bottle of bubbly and home made scones and jam awaiting us!. The owner could not have made us more welcome, nothing had been forgotten and the cottage was simple beautiful. The most comfortable cottage we have ever stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed was very comfortable and a king size, not always found in a holiday cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart a
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantasic cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our party of 4 adults were greeted with scones and wine on our arrival. What a great way to start our stay at Merrydown cottage. Beautiful well equipped 3 bedroom cottage in a quiet location. The bedrooms were large, the kitchen clean and superbly equipped, the bathrooms easily accessible and spacious. The beds were large, firm and comfortable. It was great to relax in the snug/lounge at the end of a days sightseeing. The pub within walking distance provided a great meal and a visit to the local church equally close by was delightful. Our small group stayed in a number of cottages throughout England during our recent stay and we unanimously agreed Merrydown was the best. The location made it easy to travel all over Cornwall during our 4 day stay. If you decide to stay at Merrydown and have half as good a time as we did, you will be blessed. Thanks Tim for all your help with bookings and providing one of the best cottages we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing to not like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackgem
Bris
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful cottage, in a lovely village”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

our little group of 2 couples was so happy with this cottage, none of us wanted to leave. The position in Cornwall was great for day trips, and we came home to a warm, welcoming, cosy cottage. Exceptionally fitted out, lovely decor and comfy beds. The local pub and shop are great and there's local farm shops nearby, that sadly we didn't get to. Our stay was only brief but if would be easy to stay for a week or longer...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about it was just perfect....
Liked least: so minor, but a pair of tongs in the kitchen would be good.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic autumn break”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Brilliant cottage with fantastic amenities in a picturesque village. Close to all Cornwall attractions by car and lovely local walks. Suitable for families, with lots of space, two bathrooms, fully kitted-out kitchen and a lovely garden. The owners even provide scones and champagne as a welcome gift! Would thoroughly recommend Merrydown to anyone visiting Cornwall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing