We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A unique and exceptional place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
A retreat where guest can be as lazy or as energetic as they please
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A retreat where guest can be as lazy or as energetic as they please
The balcony and view over the woods Furnished to a very high standard throughout
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
A retreat where guest can be as lazy or as energetic as they please
The balcony and view over the woods
Furnished to a very high standard throughout
Dining area
Great open-plan design to maximise space
Oak framed
The en-suite bathroom
The shower/bath
The kitchen area
The kitchen area
The view through the entrance door
The patio and the lawn and woods beyond
Oak cladding
The bluebells in Spring
The woods immediately behind The Studio
The dining area with fresh flowers on arrival.
The view from the king size bed towards the kitchen area.
The patio and lawn to the rear of the studio.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Heathfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SylandJim
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique and exceptional place to stay”
Reviewed 15 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

What a wonderful stay we had here at the Garden Studio. It was quiet and peaceful, had a lovely garden area exclusively for our use and is dog friendly. The Studio is modern and with every amenity necessary for a comfortable stay. Everything was in absolutely pristine condition ... we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Our hosts were friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Absolutely loved our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quite and lovely accommodation
Liked least: Nothing ... it was wonderful!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieB_9
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Romantic hideaway in the woods”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed here over the August Bank Holiday weekend (Friday to Monday). It's very well presented and tucked away behind the owner's house giving you sense of being in the countryside. The owners are very welcoming and rectified the only problem we had (with the DVD player) straight away. There is plenty of local information in the property and it seems to be a real hit with dog owners. We loved being able to walk in the woods without seeing anybody else. Whilst there we visited Battle Abbey, Beachy Head, Eastbourne and Pashley Manor, all of which are highly recommended. We also enjoyed walking in the lanes around the property and talking to the locals. We didn't think Heathfield was particuarly blessed with good restaurants or pubs but there are plenty of other places to visit a bit further afield.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The bed was a bit lumpy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleyar
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful location!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We were welcomed by Paul who showed us around the apartment and where everything was and kindly provided a cream tea which was well received after our long journey! The location is lovely, quiet and peaceful but within easy reach of amenities. We had never been to East Sussex before and were pleasantly surprised with this lovely part of England. The apartment had everything we needed and Paul and Joanne were very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the look of the property, the timber framed building sat well within the surrounding woodland.
Liked least: My partner doesnt like leather sofas so that was really the only dislike we could come up with!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for a get away, nice and secluded”
Reviewed 9 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a really pleasant stay at the Garden Studio for a midweek break during the Queens Jubilee.

We were looking for a getaway, not too far from London that had great options for dog walking locally and was set. In nice surroundings. The Garden Studio ticked all the boxes for us.

On arrival (we got lost and had to ring Paul who kindly gave me directions and came out on to the road to guide us in) we were stunned by the studio, which is located just down e private drive from Paul and Joanna's house. As you'll read in other reviews, the studio is bigger than the pictures would have you believe, comes with a very nicely modern bathroom and Paul had even laid out some scones to welcome us! The studio is set right in the middle of private woodland with space outside to have a BBQ or just sit in the sun, weather permitting.

For dog walking, this getaway is absolutely perfect. The private woodland around the promptly provides ample walking and the public footpath located just to the left of the studio means you can end up walking for miles, more than likely without encountered another individual along the way.

Paul also advised us of local attractions and places to visit, all of which was contained in a handy folder that had been prepared and left for us in the studio. After having a look through, we decided to visit the cuckoo trial which was a small drive away from the cottage and definitely recommended for anyone who likes a long walk.

One possible negative point (depending on how you feel) is that there is close to no Vodafone mobile reception near the studio or in the surrounding area so don't expect to be taking/making any phone calls while you are there.

We had an absolutely lovely time there and our only wish was that we could have stayed for longer. Thanks to Paul and Joanna for such a lovely stay, we'll definitely come back again in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The local knowledge of the owners and succession of the property
Liked least: The lack of mobile reception/internet
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186274Liz
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful! Quiet & restful with luxurious feel.”
Reviewed 2 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We love this place so much, this was our second visit. The studio apt is located to the rear of the owner's accomodation which is just off the main Heathfield to Horam road. You can't hear any traffic though and the outlook from the apt is great - right onto the owner's woods which you can explore at your leisure and which lead onto some local walking routes.

For us, this is the perfect bolt-hole. Altho it's a studio apt, it's not small, just open plan. We love the beams, layout and feel of the place, which is unique. The quality is very high and, for the very reasonable price, is outstanding.

Paul and Joanna are a friendly welcoming couple and we were welcomed with tea and scones which were lovely. They are there if you need them but respect your privacy at the same time.

We only live in Hastings but for "getting away from it all" for a few days, this is the perfect place for us. We would stay longer if we could and always feel sorry when we have to leave again.

The only thing it doesn't have is wifi/internet access but in a way, that's a good thing because then you are forced to leave emails etc. alone!

My partner recently had a relapse with M.E., but said she felt the best since the relapse when staying here. Although you need to be able to climb the stairs to be able to get into the property, if like my partner you find walking around difficult, then this property is ideal. Also the nearby Cuckoo Trail is ideal for wheelchairs.

We will definitely be going back again when we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, quietness, privacy & feel of the place.
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing