We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we needed”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gilder's Green

Gilders Green (in colour)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gilders Green (in colour)
4* Rating from Visit Scotland Bright and airy south facing lounge with dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Gilders Green (in colour)
4* Rating from Visit Scotland
Bright and airy south facing lounge with dining area
Lounge with Berwick Law through the window
Dining area for 6 people
Dining area ready for a fabulous holiday meal
Fireplace and welcome tray in the lounge
'The Library' complete with books and wide selection of board games in the lounge
Bright kitchen fully equipped for your holiday needs
Bright kitchen, fully equipped for your holiday
Spacious king bedroom with full length window and Berwick Law views
King bed to rest your tired legs after a walk along the beach or a game of golf
'Relax' in the bath after a hard day on the golf course!
Spacious twin bedroom
Bathroom lighthouse
Nautical bathroom
Welcoming hallway
Quality towels and linen provided
Guest Information
Entrance driveway to Gilder's Green
Private rear garden with views to Craigleith Island and the sea
Fabulous views of Berwick Law to the front of the property
Which way to the beach??
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Charles A...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we needed”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very comfortable week's stay with everything we needed in the property. To find fault I would really have to nit-pick and I have no intention of doing that. I would certainly recommend this property for a relaxed and comfortable holiday. Excellent communication with the owner beforehand gave confidence too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melstride
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home from home with sea!”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is beautifully presented with a marine theme. The kitchen is very well equipped so no problem if you like to self cater. There are glimpses of the Forth estuary and islands from the rear garden and a splendid view of North Berwick Law from the lounge and front bedroom. It's a 6 minute walk downhill to the town and about 8 minutes coming back!
Well worth the effort is a walk/climb up The Law (a volcanic plug) at the back of the town. The view from the top by the whale bones is spectacular. Other places worth visiting are Tantallon Castle and Dirleton Castle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Thank you for your excellent review. Glad to hear you found everything you needed and enjoyed many of the local sights!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A peaceful, imaginative haven”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Gilder's Green for three nights in order to have a base while attending the last three days of recitals and concerts in the (wonderful) Lammermuir Festival.

The cottage or flat (in the literature it is called both) is a single-story building attached on one side to a private 2-story house, itself attached to a large private mansion, with two more private buildings attached on the far side. All face out onto a large green set back from the road by a high wall, with two other detached private homes on another side of the green. The private road, called Kings Knoll Gardens, which runs round the green has large 'In' and 'Out' signs at the entrance and exit.

I say all this because, on reading the word 'flat, we weren't quite sure if Gilder's Green was a flat in the large mansion - it isn't! What we would say is that the peacefulness of the whole complex of King's Knoll was absolutely wonderful - it was so easy to relax immediately and continually.

The owners, Lynne and Murray Gilder, emailed us beforehand with instructions for using the key safe. Entering Gilder's Green, we found a good-sized main bedroom with two attached single beds forming a large king-sized bed, which proved extremely comfortable throughout our stay. Both bedrooms (the other has two singles) have plenty of cupboard space.

The remainder of the flat or cottage is down three steps. The living room/dining area is large, with a sizeable and good quality dining table at one end, two very comfortable three-seater settees, at least one of which is also a sofa bed, and a home entertainment shelf with wi-fi (very good reception), reasonable-sized TV, DVD player and good music player. Quite a number of DVDs were stored underneath, and elsewhere lots of board games and a terrific library of books, including children's ones and adults from Harry Potter to Iain M Banks.

The kitchen is pretty modern, with good cupboard spaced, a new Worcester combi-boiler, good-sized fridge-freezer, lots of glasses including many wine and some little shot glasses, well-supplied with cooking utensils and crockery. Everything works!

We were extremely happy during our stay, and want to pay high tribute to Lynne and Murray's great thoughtfulness towards their clients/guests. Spares are supplied for almost everything. And every room is wittily and charmingly beach themed. In addition, the owners provide a terrific Welcome basket, including a good quality bottle of Sauvignon Blanc - a better basket than a lot of London hotels.

The one slight downside was that the bathroom was - for us anyway - a little old-fashioned. The shower is sited at the mid-point of the bath, which requires a shower curtain on three sides. We're not large, yet found the shower space too restricting, and the actual curtain is dark, making the space dark too.. Ventilation is poor, with no fan extractor.

However, on our return home, Lynne immediately got in touch to say sorry about the bathroom, and to say that she and Murray are planning to do work on the bathroom almost immediately. Lynne is quite clearly a conscientious, thoughtful owner.

So we highly recommend Gilder's Green for couples and families who like a peaceful stay in North Berwick

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, the comfortable beds, the kitchen
Liked least: The bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are a bit restricted for space in the bathroom as we do try to keep it suitable for all guests thus like to keep both a bath and a shower as many require a bath for young kids following a day at the beach. We are working on a bespoke shower screen now, as unfortunately we are restricted with 'off the shelve options!'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;