We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully appointed cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gilder's Green

Gilders Green (in colour)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gilders Green (in colour)
4* Rating from Visit Scotland Bright and airy south facing lounge with dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Gilders Green (in colour)
4* Rating from Visit Scotland
Bright and airy south facing lounge with dining area
Lounge with Berwick Law through the window
Dining area for 6 people
Dining area ready for a fabulous holiday meal
Fireplace and welcome tray in the lounge
'The Library' complete with books and wide selection of board games in the lounge
Bright kitchen fully equipped for your holiday needs
Bright kitchen, fully equipped for your holiday
Spacious king bedroom with full length window and Berwick Law views
King bed to rest your tired legs after a walk along the beach or a game of golf
'Relax' in the bath after a hard day on the golf course!
Spacious twin bedroom
Bathroom lighthouse
Nautical bathroom
Welcoming hallway
Quality towels and linen provided
Guest Information
Entrance driveway to Gilder's Green
Private rear garden with views to Craigleith Island and the sea
Fabulous views of Berwick Law to the front of the property
Which way to the beach??
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
brodgarDu...
dundee
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed cottage”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable and beautifully clean cottage in an excellent situation. Pleasant area with good outlook and very easy to walk into the town. So often you need to bring or buy cleaners, dish washer tablets, tea bags etc but not here. Also a lovely welcome basket which was a lovely surprise.
Just be careful at parking as the pigeons roost in the trees and as we found out leave a dreadful mess! There are plenty clear areas to park in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet position
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2014
Thank you for your excellent review and also the great tip on letting guests know not to park under the trees! As you note, there are plenty of parking spaces right on the doorstep of the cottage, and avoiding the trees is a great idea to keep your car clean!!! Thanks again for choosing Gilder's Green.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimrey
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mimrey”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is an absolutely charming, well appointed and clean cottage. The location is ideally set in a neighborhood with an easy walk into North Berwick and also to the train station. The owners are very easy to communicate with and will provide you with their recommendations for marketing, dining and recreating.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. We do love the location of the property ourselves being very peaceful but within easy walking distance of everything North Berwick has to offer. Glad we could be of assistance with recommendations and thanks for your excellent questions - they have given us ideas of updates we need to add to our information brochure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifi130
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent holiday rental”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The best holiday rental I have had. Very roomy, clean, beautifully decorated and had everything we could have needed. Wii games and DVDs were great, the welcome basket was fantastic and the choc bunnies were a very welcome treat! Couldn't have asked for more, will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The shower
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
Thank you for your excellent review - very pleased to hear that you had a good time and found everything you need for a family holiday. We will be very pleased to welcome you back in the future where you can enjoy a 10% discount for repeat visits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Avoid younger children but lovely place”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I hate writing this cause this is a nice enough place - not 5 star - but nice - in a lovely part of North Berwick but we must write and be honest - for two young boys of 6 and 9 we felt on edge all the time. When we arrived we were asked not to park past one of the trees on the drive as the 'neighbours were funny' and that our grass seeking kids could not ever use the front grass lawn. That was hard in itself as young boys want to play on grass. We had a small sloping back area for the boys to play in but from day one every ball went into the neighbours garden and we felt we were disturbing everyone. There are houses on every side . To cap it all our 6 year old decided to ring the bell of the elderly lady who lives next door one night when we arrived back home. He wrote an apology letter to her and she sent a lovely card back but to be honest when you are paying this kind of money and trying to relax it was the last thing we needed. Please do not get us wrong. This is a nice flat for kids under 3 o4 15 plus but we cannot recommend it for any kids our age without a serious worry about what they might do to the neighbours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and tidy
Liked least: Neighbours all around and not suitable for active young kids
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
Thank you for your honest review. Around 70% of our guests (almost fully booked in the one year we have been open) have brought kids of 12 and younger and we were not made aware of this being an issue in the past. I am sorry you felt this way. The large lawn does not belong to us but we have a front patio and back garden, to which we are adding a large decked area in May to take advantage of the sea views given there is a bit of a slope. For parking, any space can be used - I will need to ensure the cleaner is aware of this as there is no restriction for all spaces in front of the main lawn. We do have neighbours and we respect them but have had no issues at all with any of them. They have kids of their own and are very understanding about balls landing in their garden, etc. Also I can confirm its not 5 star, it's Visit Scotland 4 star graded property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullibody
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Mar 2014
Thank you for your excellent comments - we should have told you about the park 2 minutes walk from the property as that makes a good short cut to the town so you get there in 6 minutes rather than 10!!! Glad you are planning to come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing