We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Greylag Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Traditional flint cottage refurbished to a high standard Cosy sitting room with TV / DVD, Wood burner, Wireless broadband
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Traditional flint cottage refurbished to a high standard
Cosy sitting room with TV / DVD, Wood burner, Wireless broadband
Comfy leather suite added April 2018
Dining area
Cosy evenings with the woodburner
Roaring fire for those cold evenings!
Linen and towels included
Beach hut deatils - double room
Twin bedroom overlooking the garden - can be configured as a double
Looks inviting
Well equipped kitchen with lots of little extras
Welcome tray - all part of the service
Summer house - ideal for Spring and Autumn breaks
Bathroom with over- bath shower
Garden looking back towards the summer house and cottage
Country garden
Holkham Beach - just a few miles from Wells. Great for walks, riding, kite flying, zorbing!
A stone's throw from the Quay
Wells beach - nothing quite like it and in easy reach from cottage
Greylag Cottage is only a stone's throw from Wells quay
Beach huts on Wells beach
Holkham Hall - great day out with something for everyone
It's Christmas!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
david6055
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greylag Cottage”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great location and property which included everything you need for self catering. Booking and contact with the owner was a very easy experience. Nice garden including a patio and summer house, we only used the patio though as the weather was fantastic. The property was very clean and well run. The information books provided were exceptional and included all you need to know about the appliances, local tourist information and more. This was our first visit to the area and will not be the last. Only down side is we had to come back to go back to work. We would definitely recommend Greylag cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Thanks for your review of your recent stay at Greylag Cottage. Glad that you found the cottage clean with good instructions. The information booklets are designed to meet Visit England criteria which are pretty strict so it's good to know that all the effort is worthwhile. Always great to get a recommendation so thank you for that and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Greylag Cottage on another occasion. Even if you don't stay with us again, I'm sure you'll be back to North Norfolk - who can resist it?!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleMis...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything we needed in a top location”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely little cottage which had everything we needed to enjoy our first holiday with a toddler and a baby! Very clean and tidy.
The owner, Jessica, was very helpful and prompt with any questions I had leading up to our stay.
Location was brilliant. Near the harbour/shops. Still bought a weekly parking ticket for the beach as easier with children - but had a beach hut (The Den) that we highly recommend too!
Personal reasons for not giving 5 stars: the living room was a little small for four of us plus it was hard to put a pram anywhere. Sometimes we couldn't get parked nearby, but we expected this and we got by! Cottage felt a little 'damp' and clothes took ages to dry when hung inside, but I assume this is due to being near the sea!
But all in all a lovely stay and would recommend!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Hi Caroline and thanks for your review. Always good to get praise but also let people know where things aren't always perfect Parking can be a bit of an issue in the summer but I hope that the alternatives that I sent were helpful. When I had a pushchair etc up there I used to use the acove under the stairs but can imagine it would be tight with a pram. i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you on another occasion. Jessica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobeyles
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely holiday cottage”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our second holiday at Greylag Cottage.
A lovely cottage with absolutely every holiday requirement provided.
Good position close to the quay & town centre.
Parking can be a problem, but we managed. and were particularly
impressed by the Coast Hopper bus service ' on the doorstep' which
gave me a rest from driving.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Thanks for reviewing your second stay at Greylag and very pleaed that your stay was good. Some people can find parking a problem, particularly at the weekends when Wells is very busy. I hope that the alternatives that I provided were helpful. Good to know that the Coast Hopper is useful - I must try it sometime. Thanks again and hope to see you next year....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordH...
Stamford, Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We loved this cottage. Visually it is super sweet and the photos on here are true to how it looks. The living room is snug but was the ideal size for us to relax and also to contain our lively 18 month old twins! Great, well equipped kitchen which has all you could possibly need. If you want to do any cooking/baking whilst here, I don't think you'll be missing anything needed. Lovely back garden with summer house. Sitting outside with a glass of wine listening to all the birds was really relaxing. Master bedroom is nicely decorated and has a fabulously comfortable bed. Not sure if it was just the bed or the sea air but I slept much better here than at home. The smaller room has a beautiful view across the marshes. Our toddlers obviously didn't appreciate this but the room was ideal for them. There isn't allocated parking with the cottage but we had no problems parking on the street. Last of all, the location is spot on. Just a minute or two to walk into the heart of Wells, but far enough removed to be nice and quiet. Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for youre review. It's great when guests take time to write in detail to help other guests decide on whether to stay at Greylag Cottage. So pleased that you've booked again for next year! Jessica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
touristSh...
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at this delightful cottage”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent 2 bedrooms cottage. Our second stay was as lovely as the year before......
Tea, coffee, milk, wine and chocolates provided. Very clean and very well equipped kitchen. Bedding and towels provided.
Highly recommended
Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thanks once again for taking the time to review Greylag Cottage. Great to hear that you had another good New Year at the cottage and that everything was to your liking. Always good to hear that the little extras make a difference. Great to hear the cottage was clean - my lady Rachel will be very pleased to hear your comments.

If you are planning a North Norfolk New Year in 2016, let me know, though the cottage is only available from NYE itself this year.

Thanks again.

Jessica

P. S. The starter pack is provided for all guests, including the welcome choclates, but the wine is just at Christmas and New Year! Don't want to disappoint my other guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing