We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”

Maltings Cafe & Bar
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 November 2018

We ended up in here after an awful experience with another café further up Staithe Street, and were relieved to find young staff who were polite and friendly. We had a bacon and egg bap which was very nice and the coffee was lovely too. The toilets are clean and the whole place is light and airy. Would certainly recommend.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mart48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Manager at Maltings Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your positive review, and we are glad you had a good experience. please do continue to spread the word and we hope to see you again soon.

Simon Daykin
Director
Wells Maltings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

What a truly wonderful place... I have never been to Wells before and called in to the Maltings for a hot drink and a quick bite. It is such a pleasure to find people who are genuinely keen to offer a great service. Coffee was amazing and the cake delicious. A conversation with a lovely northern guy who was knowledgeable about the forthcoming events at the Maltings and a very engaging young man. Will definitely return on my next visit to take in one of the shows.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 53andAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Manager at Maltings Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your glowing review - we appreciate it very much. I have in particular passed your comments about one member of my team to the gentleman in question - he also expresses his thanks for the commendation.

Do continue to spread the word and we hope to see you again soon.

Simon Daykin
Director
Wells Maltings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

The temperature inside was warm and the service was excellent. The tables like the toilets were spotless. The pot of fruit tea was as good as you would expect.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Manager at Maltings Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon

Simon Daykin, Director, Wells Maltings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

The new Maltings in Wells Next the Sea is a breath of fresh air in a the town, With the always helpful tourist office, the theatre, art gallery and the Heritage Centre full of Wells life to enjoy for an hour or two, the cafe's excellent coffee and fresh, delicious cakes are not to be missed.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank kathyajoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Manager at Maltings Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you for your kind words. We strive to offer something for everyone, and despite being new and still finding our feet, it's good to know that we getting it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Visited here for the first time today and to say I was disappointed is a massive understatement!
We ordered 2 soup of the days (stated by server was MUSHROOM), a quiche, hot chocolate, 2 fizzy drinks and a smoothie...this order came to an extortionate £32.20. For this sort of price you naturally expect top notch food! The small quiche on its own was £7 (see attached pic), not only was it overpriced but not very tasty at all! My hot chocolate tasted and looked like warm milk and had absolutely NO chocolate flavour whatsoever (see attached pic)!
Our soups was more of a BLACK PEPPER soup than mushroom, the black pepper was SO over powering neither me or my mum could actually finish it, there was no taste of mushroom to it at all!
As well as our food being disappointing, the service was poor, as the young man behind the till seemed left to his own devices and needed to perhaps be watched over by a manager as he didn’t seem to have any idea what he was doing! We ALSO received a dirty glass which had a very prominent lip stick stain round the rim, I also had to route through the cutlery section to find any clean ones!
This cafe is a huge disappointment and quite frankly lets the Maltings building down, this is such a beautiful building really paying credit to Wells and this cafe has let it down!

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Xaynia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, Manager at Maltings Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

We are really sorry that you had a poor experience of the new Maltings through its cafe. This is not what we intend, and my apologies as director of the centre. We are new as you know, and are striving to get things right. Your comments and feedback are very useful, and have been discussed with the team, so we can improve.

It's worth saying that we would of course have tried hard to rectify things if you had mentioned your dissatisfaction to a member of the team.

If you are in Wells again, please let us know and give us a second chance, and have a drink on us.

Simon Daykin
Director
Wells Maltings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maltings Cafe & Bar also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to Maltings Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing