We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family birthday celebration get together”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Coastal Retreat

Tidal Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tidal Retreat
Dining Room 17th Century Exterior with regency bay window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Tidal Retreat
Dining Room
17th Century Exterior with regency bay window
Enter a caption for your photo
Fireplace overmantel
Kitchen
French doors leading to patio area
double bed
twin beds
part of patio area
Arbour
Patio area
Looking out of bay window
Twin bedroom leading to ensuite
Dining area
Lounge area
Patio
Kitchen
Living Room
Ensuite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Blakeney, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Darren L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, tired cottages”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Just returned home from an amazing week in Blakeney with my parents 2 boys and the dog. The accommodation however was sadly lacking. We know Blakeney well and the lack of parking and outside space was not an issue. We booked the Bittern as it had an adjoining 1 bed cottage 'Cobble cottage' which looked perfect for my parents as it had an adjoining door to Bittern so we could all have our own space. Unfortunately the twin bedroom we had earmarked for our boys aged 2 and 5 had the interconnecting door in it so was totally unsuitable for our needs. We decided to sleep in there and put our 5yr old in the small attic bedroom accessed via a steep staircase which didn't cause an issue and he loved. Our 2yr old we put in the double bed room surrounded by pillows which had the staircase to the single room in. They both loved, it however on the first night there was heavy rain which caused water to pour down the wall into the double room and the ceiling in the upstairs shower room making it unusable. We were able to move the double bed away from the wall and the leak was dealt with by Monday but did leave the whole cottage feeling damp and smelling musty.
Though both cottages have been recently updated they are tired, the kitchens are ill equipped and there were many light bulbs out throughout both cottages. For example there was no light in the fridge in the Bittern and the lighting in general was poor. The kettle in Cobble cottage only worked if it was held onto its base and the neither of the shaving lights worked in either bathroom. The showers, though clean were spitty and the temperature was difficult to control. There are also very few instructions in either cottage, for example we only found the freezer in the cupboard by the door by accident and had to figure out the t.v's through trial and error.
The beds in the twin room were very soft upon investigation we discovered that a layer of foam had been placed over the very lumpy in need of replacing mattresses. We had an amazing holiday and I am loathed to write such a poor review but I do not believe that either cottage lives up to its 4* rating. I hope that the owner takes heed and spends a bit of time and money both Bittern and Cobble cottages as they are perfectly located and have the potential to be outstanding.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family birthday celebration get together”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely cottage in a fab location. Family enjoyed their stay at this small but quaint cottage. Would book to stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little cottage in central village location”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Really enjoyed our short stay here amongst the quaint old flint cottages of Blakeney. With the Deli next door and out the door and 200m downhill to the tidal estuary at the bottom of the High Street. Cottage had everything we needed and the storage heaters were on, for our (late Dec) arrival. With three bedrooms teenage son and daughters were pleased to have separate rooms (third bedroom is v snug in the attic with a steep spiral staircase but roof light gives roof top views). Will certainly consider staying again, if we return to Blakeney

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character
Liked least: Nothing really - Cars stopping for Deli might annoy some
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola P
1 review
“fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A lovely cottage , with all you need for a weekend break or even longer . We had a very relaxing weekend . :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria J
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank you! Had a wonderful time”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Loved this cottage, it is clean, well organized, great location and looks as if fairly recently decorated. Loved the huge Regency bay window where you can sit and see the comings and goings in Blakeney, which is of course unique and adorable. We loved the private area with chairs where you can sit undisturbed. The wonderful deli next door produces amazing food and snacks and we love their coffee.
All in all a great winter break in a place we love. Owner really helpful and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked the cottage and location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing