We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Coastal Retreat

Tidal Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tidal Retreat
Dining Room 17th Century Exterior with regency bay window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Tidal Retreat
Dining Room
17th Century Exterior with regency bay window
Enter a caption for your photo
Fireplace overmantel
Kitchen
French doors leading to patio area
double bed
twin beds
part of patio area
Arbour
Patio area
Looking out of bay window
Twin bedroom leading to ensuite
Dining area
Lounge area
Patio
Kitchen
Living Room
Ensuite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Blakeney, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue P
Letchworth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed over half term and loved it. We often stay in this group of cottages, this one was good for us as we had an elderly person with us, so the ground floor bedroom and en-suite helped. It was perfectly located near the quay, with gorgeous décor and looked like a new floor with deep wool rugs.
Loved sitting out in the evening when we got a bit of sun in the very private outside area.
We love Blakeney, so go a lot, particularly to this group of cottages which we have always found to be first class.
Two shower rooms a bonus. Good shower pressure. Were glad to pay the extra for bed linen as the prices are so reasonable and you have the choice whether to or not.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in Blakeney
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia U
London
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Such a great stay. Lovely cottage with all you could wish for. All beautifully decorated with stunning wooden floors and what looked like newly decorated walls and new curtains throughout. We liked the gated sitting out terrace and the fact there were two shower rooms. Loved it!! Blakeney is a gem and this is ideally located.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth...
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what is seems...”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

- the owners website says that bedding is included, i got an email the day before we were due to arrive which stated that i would need to pay another £11 per person for bedding or would need to bring my own(thats an extra £55 for our group). further more we would need to bring our own towels, the owner did apologise for the mix up and offered us another night at a reduced rate, however we would still have to pay extra for bedding and towels. having stayed the first night i did not want to stay any longer than i had booked for.
there were no tea towels, so i had to leave everything to drain. the shower had no pressure at all and was more like a dribble. on one of the days a workman let him self in to fix the washing machine, i hadn't been informed that it wasn't working or that he was coming.
the decor is really dated and dark and just felt depressing, the house also smelt musty and we found that we just didn't want to be in it.
although the bedrooms were an ok size, the front room and kitchen is far to small for a group of five, the stairs to the upstairs bedroom is so steep i wouldn't let my kids use them or
sleep upstairs. so we all squeezed into the downstairs.
i have never written a critical review of any where i have stayed, i just felt a bit cheated. the positives are The accommodation is very clean and is in a central location. i accept that it was also cheaper than other accommodation in the area £85 per night, but considering we could not enter the property until 4.30 and had to leave at 9.30 i don't feel it was good value.
in all honesty i could not recommend this house to a friend, which is a shame as there is lots of potential due to the great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing