We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tina m
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage is very spacious and comfortable. Everything has been thought of that is needed especially in the kitchen. The area is stunning and the owners very friendly and helpful.
Just 1 suggestion......a book for guests to write in their favourite activities or days out so new guests can get ideas of things to do! Our favourite day was climbing up to the 9 standards.....hard going but a great achievement! We only knew of this after being told by the owner.

Definitely recommend this cottage and wI'll definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andythorn...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family getaway ”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Rainbow Cottage for a week and enjoyed our stay immensely. Our 21yr old son is disabled but the cottage was extremely accessible for him.Having a large wet room was important for us and Rainbow cottage definitely delivered ! Everything you need is here and owners Pam and Stephen will help you with anything else. The location is beautiful surrounded by lots of animals and wildlife- about 2.5 miles to Kirkby Stephen where we dined at the Black Bull twice ( gorgeous steak and Guinness pie!!!) We would definitely recommend to anyone who wants a chilled week !!! Home from home ( dogs loved it too!!!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freneticf...
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Already trying to book next year”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I spent literally days trying to find a cottage that would meet our location needs but also the requirements for my disabled sister. This place was perfect. Thoughtfully and lovingly built. Noisy baby was able to stay sufficiently away from others so not to wake the toddler in the other 'wing'.
Pamela is extremely well organised and phoned us in advance to check requirements. Anything we needed, we just asked and they sorted it.
The cottage was very clean and we have stayed in more expensive places that haven't been so well equipped. The walk in shower was a bonus for the wheelchair (although make sure you are more awake than my mum in the mornings who kept nearly walking into it) and the cottage had lots of areas to spend time as smaller groups.

The table tennis area has started a family annual competition complete with trophy. Stephen and Pamela were personable and genuine. Little touches like getting new bats and balls for the table were great.
Lots of places to eat / sit outside.
The highlight of the holiday for me was the birds. Nesting curlew and oyster catchers under your breakfast table, redstarts were just some of our wonderful memories. Recommend binoculars if this is your thing also.
We were very lucky with the weather, spending most days sat under a tree on a blanket. Even though the cottage is next door to the farm, it still feels private. It's a short ten minute drive from Kirkby Stephen. We recommend Archway Chip shop. Massive portions and friendly staff. For disabled walks, we would recommend the viaduct walk. There is a car park, instead of having to 'abandon' your car in the villages. Although, I would recommend checking the parking before leaving for the walk as we found one shut on the day.
There isn't any wifi at the cottage but we found that a bonus as no-one can get hold of you and it was lovely to escape properly.
Fabulous time had by all. Got a bit emotional when we had to leave and return to realism.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Birds, seclusion and disabled access facilities
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick L
Northop Hall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquility with Quality”
Reviewed 29 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This property is outstanding in terms of quality of loaction and internal fittings/fixtures.
Ideal for less mobile/wheelchair users with huge wetroom and loads of space.
Graet welcome from owners who live in adjacent farm.
Pets welcome.
Easy to travel to sightseeeing locations - The Bowes Museum in Barnard Castle is outstanding.
Dont miss the fish and chips at Mulberrys in Kirkby Stephen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet .
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton hampshire
Reviewed 22 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing