We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
181
15
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
15
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoast to coast walktea and cakestayed herefoot spaon arrivalpacked lunchsmoked salmonaching feetgreat hostsbreakfast included eggsgreat decorlovely young couplecharacter and charmdeserve every successb bslarge bathtubpubs and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We have stayed at the Old Croft House many times now, both with its previous and current owners, every Easter for the Classic Vehicle Rally. Its location is excellent, right in the middle of Kirkby Stephen, a nice market town, and close to all the pubs and restaurants. The service from Nick & Rachel is warm and friendly, the rooms comfortable and immaculately clean, and the breakfasts are good, all combined with the olde worlde charm of the building. We would highly recommend it. Donald & Sylvia, Glasgow

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelandNick1, Owner at The Old Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Donald & Sylvia,

Thanks for the lovely review, it's been a pleasure welcoming you back each year and glad you enjoy your visits. The Classic vehicle rally is always one of the highlights for us and we look forward to 2019 already!

Kind Regards

Rachel & Nick





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

First time at the rally, were really lucky to get accommodation in kirkby itself, couldn't have been nicer! Bang in the centre of kirkby, lovely room, super food, and Nick and Rachael were great hosts, super friendly and helpful, see you next year and would recommend to all. Many thanks Gordon and scott

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelandNick1, Owner at The Old Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Gordon & Scott,

Thank you very much for the lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed the weekend and staying at The Old Croft House and that you made it back safely in spite of mechanical issues!

Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Rachel & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Relaxing in front of the log burning stove, the warm, friendly atmosphere of The Old Croft House is comforting . Beautifully furnished with antiques , tastefully decorated , and equipped to cater for every requirement .
Hosts with a genuine desire to make your stay home from home .

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and comfortable .
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dishebafrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelandNick1, Owner at The Old Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at The Old Croft House and felt it was like a home from home. We have worked very hard decorating over the past 6 years so its always lovely to hear that it is appreciated, the log burning stove has been one of the most useful additions, especially this winter!

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Rachel & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We have stayed at The Old Croft House several times now. We are blown away by Rachel and Nicks hospitality, nothing was to much trouble. The bath was amazing after a long days walk and the whole surroundings are very luxurious, we especially loved the wood burner whilst sitting in the high ceilinged lounge. Breakfast was delicious, we especially loved the smoked salmon. My husband and I even got to see two red squirrels after Nick told us where the best place to go to view them. If we had more time we would have gone to look for the Otters that had also been spotted within walking distance. The Old Croft House. Thank you Nick & Rachel your hospitality was amazing!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the front, it was very large had a massive bath, had high ceilings and sofa with coffee table.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jacquiandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

This was a charming old place right in the heart of Kirkby Stephen, a stone's throw from good dining. The hosts were young and energetic and very helpful with walking tips as they were experienced walkers themselves- (in fact we ran into them the very next day as we walked to the next village). Beautifully decorated. Our guest room was lovely, and breakfast was generous!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews