We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Barn Conversion Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance and driveway to Biggins Grange Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance and driveway to Biggins Grange Barn
Driveway and garden, parking area Garden and seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Entrance and driveway to Biggins Grange Barn
Driveway and garden, parking area
Garden and seating area
Hallway
Kitchen, with views over the fells
Dining area
18th Century spice cupboard in the kitchen.
Sitting Room, with electric log burning stove.
Bedroom
Bedroom, leading to en suite and dressing room
Bathroom, with dressing table
Bathroom
Dressing gown.
Romantic Balloon Flight over the Barn
Christmas at Biggins.
Certificate of Excellence.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patricia...
1 review
“Fabulous Barn Conversion Cottage”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Have just returned from a wonderful week in this super cottage. Very cosy . Milk and biscuits left for us and beautiful fresh roses in lounge and bedroom. Everything you could wish for and lots more. Kirby Lonsdale lovely place to visit with good restaurants and quaint shops. Sorry not to have met Tina and David as they were on holiday. Maybe next time.

Many thanks.

Patricia and Joseph Hunt

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
We were sorry not to have met you, as we were away on our holidays. Very pleased everything was to your liking, and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to meeting you next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam H
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great cottage in a picturesque location”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for 2 weeks in this comfortable stone cottage in a lovely rural location and only 1.5kms from the lovely town of Kirkby Lonsdale. The town offers a number of hotels and restaurants, bakery, good supermarket, pharmacy, Fish & Chips takeaway, Chinese takeaway (open until 11.00pm) and a variety of good shops.

The cottage is spacious with a well fitted kitchen and a large number of cooking utensils and equipment. The lounge has a rustic feel with a large flat screen TV, DVD player, a 2 seater sofa, an armchair with a mobile foot stool, coffee table, 3 occasional tables, lamp table and free standing lamp. There is an openable window and a large roof window that lets in lots of natural light.

The bedroom has a double bed, beside tables, chest of drawers, a large roof window with a blind and a dressing area off the room with large wardrobes and a dressing table.

The bathroom is also spacious with a large bath and wall fitted shower over this. There is another dressing table, toilet, basin, exhaust fan and openable window.

Guests have the private use of the pretty front garden and a secure parking space.

The owners are very friendly and have been very thoughtful in providing the equipment and staple food items their quests will need .

Heaters are in every room and these work well.

The WiFi works well and is reliable.

The beautiful countryside around the cottage offers some great walks and the cottage is a good base for exploring the Lakes District and Yorkshire Dales.

The owners replied quickly to my emails.

We enjoyed our stay and would return to Biggins if we find ourselves in the area again.

If you have any questions then just send me a personal message.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and garden
Liked least: The water pressure is OK but not great, operated by a pump we think
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Thank you for your comprehensive review. We are really pleased you had such a good time, and hope you are enjoying the rest of your extended trip to the U.K. and beyond.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b0bandj0a...
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Unbeatable'”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent 2 weeks in the cottage and found it outstanding in every rspect - warm, clean, very spacious for 2 people and exceptionally well equipped. In addition the local area was fascinating (Wuthering Heights country) and the local village (Kirkby Lonsdale - a short walk away) fascinating, very pretty and with a wide choice of eateries (27!!!)
Our hosts, Tina and David were very welcoming and overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
It was lovely meeting you both. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly as you had travelled such a great distance ! Hopefully you have returned home with lots of lovely memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishi106
St Leonard's East Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cosy, relaxing, stay in this well equipped accommodation.”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely relaxing week in this comfortable, traditionally styled, and very well equipped small barn conversion.
On arrival we found the property very clean and welcoming with a tea tray and biscuits waiting for us. The accommodation had all the equipment and facilities you could need for a 'self-catering'' holiday. However, we did very little cooking preferring to make use of the excellent restaurants in the local area. Kirkby Lonsdale is within walking distance but you would need boots/walking shoes in the wet weather. There was lots of little extra details that made this a place we would recommend- eg plenty of good quality towels in the bathroom, shower gel, soft cotton bedding and fresh flowers. The barn is situated in a small 'hamlet' of residential properties on a quiet lane- no traffic noise- but close access to the main roads. We would very much like to return sometime!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
So plesed you had a good holiday. Nice to know you appreciated the little extras we provide to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible. You were perfect guests, you are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithoutAH...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy with lots of space”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a great stay in Biggins Grange Barn in early March – the accommodation was perfect for our one week trip to Kirkby Lonsdale. The Barn was lovely and warm and there was lots of space including a separate lounge. It was a 15 minute walk into Kirkby Lonsdale which we really enjoyed – there are numerous restaurants and pubs in the town. Biggins Grange Barn is well located for exploring the local area and a bit further afield – we had days out to the Lakes and to the Forest of Bowland.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
It was lovely to meet you both. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing