We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
208
76
24
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
208
76
24
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews treacle tart chateaubriand proper pub fresh milk lovely pub wet room cod family lunch sunday lunch three courses large car park cheese board overnight stay mash main course convenient location booked a table
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing overnight stay, the room was very comfortable and wonderfully styled with lots of thoughtful finishing touches. We had an incredible meal in the bar, the black pudding scotch eggs were to die for. Breakfast was also really good with a lovely selection and well cooked, great poached eggs! Would definitely go back! The service was great and the ambience relaxing! Thank you..

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bambi_Jago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

A group of us stayed here for a couple of days including New Years Eve. We’d read good reviews on The Telegraph website and it certainly lived up to them. The staff were brilliant, extremely helpful and friendly. When we arrived New Years Eve we wanted some lunch but they were fully booked and they very helpfully gave us suggestions of where to go. Also, much to our horror we discovered that we weren’t booked in for dinner that evening which we thought we were. Once again they were fully booked. This was dealt with by the staff in an extremely calm manner and they very kindly managed to somehow fit us in. We were very relieved and grateful.
The food was delicious and we had an excellent meal on New Years Eve and the staff were very attentive. So much so that on being told the kitchen was going to be closed New Years Day for dinner, we mentioned that we’d like to go to a local Indian and could they recommend one for us. One member of staff immediately suggested one then printed off some reviews for us to look at. Not only that, he offered to ring them for us and book a table.
After a very good nights sleep in the extremely comfortable and large bed in a delightful room we had an excellent breakfast. The food as well as being well cooked is of a good quality. Some of us then set off for a long walk in the lovely surrounding countryside. When we returned we went to the bar and I was informed that the kitchen had stopped serving food. I mentioned that I was hungry after walking and asked for some crisps. Another member of staff had overheard this conversation and went to the kitchen staff and persuaded them to prepare me something. They just couldn’t do enough for us during our stay and I would definitely stay at the Pheasant again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Prebooked a table for 10 and had a really excellent meal. Freshly cooked and brought to the table all together 3 hours passed quickly. Fillet steak and slow cooked belly pork were highlights
Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Growup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We stayed at the Pheasant just before Christmas, and we had a fantastic stay. We have visited the pub before and we did have a couple of issues with our second visit, but it was well worth speaking to Jack and his team, as our return visit was absolutely outstanding - probably one of the best nights away we've ever had. Service was brilliant, we were so well looked after - and the food was excellent, really good selection, well presented, well cooked, and I highly recommend the cheese board it was amazing. The rooms are gorgeous, spacious, comfortable and luxurious - with a lovely powerful shower. Nice touches such as the fresh milk available, cool radio in the room and lovely toiletries really made it special. We spent a great evening drinking in the bar and chatting with the bar staff (poor bar staff!) who were so friendly and made us feel at home. Will be back as soon as we can for another stay. Would give 6 out of 5 stars :)

Room Tip: If you have any problems during your stay DO speak to the staff as they are very accommodating and happy to help.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Very pleasant bedroom with good quality bed linen and toiletries. Good tea/coffee tray too. We sat in the bar before dinner and were entertained by local characters. Then moved into the dining room where we were able to change to a more suitable table with no fuss from the staff. Good service through the meal. Only slight criticism is that the regular dinner menu was not inspiring; however this was more than compensated by the specials which were delicious. Breakfast was also excellent, with a wide choice and again, attentive service.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank butterflyfish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews