We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
170
185
45
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
185
45
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior bungalow kite surfing beach bungalow wide beach rooms are decent really enjoyed our stay here jamon iberico large terrace perfect location moroccan coast special thanks sound of the waves family holiday fantastic stay laid back situated right buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 445 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Tarifa is the perfect location to enjoy kite surfing, thats why we went there. It is quite windy so not always that nice with small children at the beach. Hotel dos mares is the best choice for hotel on the beach in this area! It is super child friendly although the pool is rather small and could use a separate part for smaller children. The staff is very friendly but not that well english speaking. The whole hotel area is very well maintained, rooms are decent and clean. We loved the beach bar chiringuito, very good food! Breakfast is rather poor. Would definitely recommend it too families with children!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Natacha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Dos Mares is a bit pricey (required three bungalows to accommodate my family of six) compared to some other alternatives around Tarifa, but I wanted a different experience at the end of our trip to Spain. After a day in Gibraltar, we made the 45 minute drive to Dos Mares and were treated to a truly unforgettable beach with the Rock of Gibraltar looming in the horizon to the east and the rugged Moroccan coast across the Strait of Gibraltar to the South. Having breakfast outside on the patio overlooking all of that was pure serenity.

I saw a few mixed reviews about cleanliness and staff courtesy. When we opened the door (had the bungalow closest to the horse corral which was another complaint), there was a very faint odor of bleach. My wife said, "well that is actually comforting." The room was immaculate. Although the wind blows from the direction of the horse corral and you could smell it occasionally, I didn't consider it a nuisance. We left the windows open all night and it smelled fresh and sea breezy. We parked literally behind the bungalow which was so convenient compared to the rest of our trip. I wouldn't say the staff was friendly or unfriendly, they were just kind of "there" if you needed them.

For the kids, there was a small soccer field that we used. We bought a cheap ball in Tarifa (10 minute drive -- downtown parking wasn't an issue when we were there). There was also a tennis court and paddle ball court we never saw used. The pool was also nice but not heated -- just a bit warmer than the ocean which was 64 degrees Fahrenheit. The surf felt cold at first but fine after I dove under a couple of times. It is between waist and chest deep 100 yards out before dropping off quickly. I did not notice any current even with the wind blowing hard. The kids were fine playing in the water.

The Continental-style breakfast was perfect -- plentiful and fresh.

We don't kite surf, but the pro shop is right there for those who want to try. Most of the kites are down the coast at Valdevaqueros. There were a handful of serious kite surfers staying at Dos Mares and they were fun to watch. The beach has an exclusive feel -- I never saw more than a handful of people in either direction for half a mile.

Another note is the shower is like a fire hose. If you need a hot shower to warm up after being in the ocean a couple of hours, those showers will definitely do the trick!

The one negative was my daughters (21 and 17) wanted to ride horseback on the beach. But they were immediately turned off to that idea when they watched staff literally holding the reins and walking alongside the horses for other guests. The WiFi was ok but not super strong.

Also, it would be nice if Dos Mares had an apartment style bungalow for bigger families. Maybe they did and were already booked? Many of their amenities are family oriented.

Room Tip: Away from the horse corral. I like horses, so they didn't bother me. But I could see how they might bother travelers
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank craigf693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located right at the beach not too far from tarifa. Beautiful long sandy beaches, palm trees, few bars in walking distance but they have a nice restaurand and bar are with free wifi. They also have a nice swimming pool.
All bungalows are equipped with AC, TV, nice bathroom, safe, fridge etc.
We loved the breakfast every morning, and the staff was always helpful and super nice.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kory007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Even If you do not surf (we don't) a nice spot to spend 2 or 3 nights. The Restaurant serves excellent meals, the Suite we had was great, clean and well equipped. Of course it was windy but you can always find a sheltered place. Sea can also be rough but very shallow and wide beach. Breakfast with a lot of choice. Staff friendly and well trained.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank emse5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

This hotel is a perfect place to stay for an "away from it all" break. It is situated right on the beach,away from the main highway,so it is quiet,except for the wonderful sounds of the waves,wind in the trees, and birdsong! It is situated in a nature reserve;great for relaxing walks with good birdwatching in March. The breakfast is good. There are no shops nearby so come prepared to eat every meal in the hotel (reasonably priced and tasty). The gardens are lovely. Unfortunately the pool area was closed. Room cleanliness could have been of a higher standard. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank birdwatcherNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews