We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Villa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa

'La Rana'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'La Rana'
big terrace Seating Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
'La Rana'
big terrace
Seating Area
Open plan kitchen with dining area
10 x 4 private pool
10 x 4 private pool
BBQ with seating area
10 x 4 private pool
Summertime
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2  ( another aspect )
Bathroom 1
Bathroom ( another aspect )
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3 ( another aspect )
Bathroom 2 ( en suite )
washmashine
evening atmosphere
evening atmosphere
Now new : dishwasher
Welcome to..........
Beaches in Nerja ( 5 min drive )
Frigiliana ( 5 min drive )
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Nerja, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sunnyrays...
Marton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb Villa”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I write this review whilst still staying at La Rana. An exceptionally large villa, surrounded by beautiful trees that Frank takes care of so well. The pool is huge compared to most villas that have pools and everything you can imagine is provided, towels, linen which Frank comes and changes after a week.. How nice! There is plenty of sun and shade and large table outside and in. Wi-if works a dream which is great if you had children who like their tablets/phones. Frank gave us some great ideas for places to go to - we are going out for a beer with him tomorrow! Such a lovely man and will go to great lengths to make your stay a perfect one! We cannot wait to come back next year.. Frank and his villa deserves nothing but 5 stars, yes the road down to the villa might be a bit of a bumpy ride - my elderly father in law was able to walk up and down it even when we had a car..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liza_Zeld...
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful villa”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the La Rana villa for two weeks at the New Year 2015. The villa is clean and nice, the owner, Frank, and his wife, Maria, are very welcome. Maria speaks very little English, but her English is enough to explain everything we need. Frank speaks english very good.

The furniure is in good condtion, the stove works properly, the linen and towels are clean and new, and there is enough kitchen things and dishes. We also used the grill outside, it is also very nice.

Heating is using electirc and gas heaters and this is enough, since winters in Nerja are warm and sunny.

The villa has a wonderful sun-terrace and a large garden. It also has a swimming pool, but we did not use it due to the season.

We had a wonderful winter sunny holiday, I will highly recommend this villa to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace and grill
Liked least: Stone floor
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Villa, lovely location, helpful owner.”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have just returned from a week in La Rana, first week of December……had a really great holiday and the villa was lovely. My wife was a little concerned that we might be cold at night but Frank quickly provided addition heaters and extension leads which in the end were not needed once the villa warmed up. All the windows are double glazed to a high standard. All the fittings and furniture, beds, bathrooms and kitchen were excellent. The settees in the kitchen area were oldish but clean and candidly it would be madness to have very expensive furniture in an area where people might come in from the pool wet, sweaty and oily. The upstairs studio is furnished to a very high standard. Comment has been made about the internal stairs. During our stay my inlaws visited who are both in their late eighties and they had no problems going up or down.
The villa is set in an orchard with oranges, lemons, avocados and mangos so no shortage of fruit!!
The access road is steepish 1 in 4 or 5 but it is concreted albeit rather bumpy …..apparently it rained hard immediately after the concrete had been laid, but still much better than slippery gravel or a dusty track. Any competent driver would have no problems at all and I’ve experienced a lot worse. We had a hired Opel Corsa with front wheel drive and it was fine.
We have been visiting the area for over 25 years and stayed in a number of villas when our family villa was occupied. La Rana rates as one of the very best and good value. Of course if you want to spend twice the money you might get a little more but the difference would be marginal.
On our last night the cylinder supplying the cooker ran out of gas but within 5 minutes Frank was there with a replacement.
All the good things other reviewers have said are correct but I thought it may be useful to expand and give an objective comment on the more negative comments.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGupste...
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa in peaceful location”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a week at end of June and like the couple before us, it was so good we booked for the following year. We had all good intentions of visiting lots of the nearby villages but the pool and villa was so great we stayed there most of the week working on our tans!

I was wary at first in booking a villa in this way with the owners direct but Frank couldn't have been any more honest or trustworthy. He is a great guy, and certainly knows how to look after his guests. For first time visitors to the area and villa renting we could not have been any more looked after. Like others we also had the welcome pack, and as our flight was delayed we didn't arrive at our meeting point til nearly 9.30pm, but Frank took us out for a drink and meal and drew us a map of the area and all the places to visit to get the most out of our weeks stay. He also went over and above, inviting us to a local Spanish religious event in the moutains, where there was dancing, singing from the locals. Our stay also co-incided with the Summer Solstice celebrations (St.John over there) and everyone goes down to the beaches at midnight to dip their toes in the water and make a wish. The beaches were packed and there was a great atmosphere.

A home from home this villa is a short drive from both Nerja and Frigiliana, sitting on the border of Frigiliana, and if you want a week of solitude, relaxing and sunbathing by the pool specifically then this place is perfect! No need to go and cram yourself on the beach amongst others and pay for sunbeds! This villa is clearly popular with returning visitors which always says a lot for the quality of a place without the need for writing any review whatsoever.

NB: The villa does actually have 6 bedrooms but Frank keeps two occupied for his family, so if you think it will be too small as it only sleeps 4 then don't worry, there is huge amounts of living space throughout the villa, inside and out.

If I had to be picky with anything in the villa, and its worth pointing out to those who struggle sleeping in the heat, there is no air con or fans throughout, so you do need to accustom to having the windows open and the sounds of the birds and cockerels in the morning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and outdoor area
Liked least: No air con and I only had one pillow :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The many verandas, BBQ area and pool
Liked least: The darkness if the lower bedroom level during the day time
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing