We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,705)
Filter reviews
1,705 results
Traveller rating
805
620
207
52
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
805
620
207
52
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thomson gold entertainment team patio bar gold entertainment gold hotel thomson team happy hour pool area plenty of choice sea view across the road superior room evening entertainment great holiday lovely hotel sister hotel both breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
1,492 - 1,497 of 1,705 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Booked 2 nights at the Yaramar .
We were very impressed with everything about this Hotel.
Speedy, Friendly Reception, Spotless Room with beautiful sea view and well thought out details such as coffee tray and clothes line over bath.
Excellent Breakfast with plenty of choice and the most friendly and efficient staff imaginable.
Well equipped gym with spa bath and also a games room.
Entertainment OK and bar staff very nice.
Only criticism, room was a little too warm, but even with the door open, there was very little noise heard on 8th floor.
All in all, a friendly, welcoming hotel which pays attention to details It has a lovely happy atmosphere and we were glad that our original choice of Hotel was unavailable.
We will be back!

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peckisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Booked hotel & flight seperately, all went well.
Staff on arrival great, checked in and in room in 20 mins even though room was not ready on arrival.
Room great and very spacious but far too hot, radiator was on but only luke warm, turned it off but still had to have pation door open day & night. Even with it open we were still sleeping with just a sheet on, which is great at the end of December but as the Spanish never sleep it was extremely noisy every night.
Food was poor and unless it came from the "show cooking" area it was luke warm, however a microwave is provided to re-heat it!! Several people who had stayed previous years remarked that the food had definately gone down hill and would not be returning.
Drink prices were double those in the restaurants & bars outside. Entertainment, which was man on keyboard, in main bar was dire - not everyone there was over 80!!
As my husband is a non-smoker he would not go into the basement where the Gold entertainment was held as you had to walk through a bank of cigarette smoke to get a seat in the no smoking area. But according to the advertising board there was not much on anyway.
There were not many bars open in the back streets behind the hotel, shame cause I think they could have made a fortune.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestCountryJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

Managed to get super bargain with Thomsons for half board at The Yaramar. 0nly drawback flew home on Xmas Day! But the holiday cost only £220 a week each (stayed 2 weeks). Hotel service really good, food choice was varied and food hot and tasty. You could help yourself to Cava at breakfast if you wish. Entertainment - Group called Ruthless were fair but we thought that James, Robin, Harry and Heather the Thomson Gold entertainment team were really good - panto on Xmas Eve loads of fun. Thomson Rep in hotel - Ben - was the best rep we had ever met. He even rang us up twice to see if we were happy with everything.

Fuengirola was quiet but we really liked the resort. Easy to get about by bus and train. Visited the zoo and have to say don't miss it - it is amazing and you can get real close to animals kept in wonderful surroundings. Tip pick up small zoo discount card in Tourist Info or hotel.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerseysideJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

My partner (60) and I (61) stayed at the Yaramar from 1st until 15th of November on a Thomson Gold package. Partner will not travel in lifts so we requested a low room. We were given a room on the lowest accomodation floor, level with the pool. Room good. Paid extra to use the fridge (3 euros a day) and to park rental car in hotel parking (6 euros a day). The latter reasonable compared to street parking costs and convenience.

Restuarant is buffet basis for all meals with open seating. We rarely had to queue to be seated and even then not for more than 5-10 minutes. You are allowed to eat a la carte once each week making your request to the head waiter. Some dishes on this menu carry an additional charge. (lobster 9 Euros).

Pool area is nice and most activities are organised in this area. Some are held at the Beach Club just opposite. To use this facility at other times incurs a cost but this is at a reduced rate for hotel guests.

What made our holiday was the quality of the activities/production team of James, Harry, Heather and Robin. They arrived on the same day as ourselves.

There are two entertainment lounges. One is quite sedate with traditional music for dancing. We did not frequent this lounge. In fact we likened it to a scene out of "waiting for goddo". We frequented the downstairs Aquarium Show Lounge which has a resident duo providing excellent live music (Ruthless, Ruth and Les) and is also where the Thomson production team provide nightly shows. All entertainment in the Aquarium Lounge is excellent. On Saturday an entertainer is flown from the UK to give a show. On both occasions this was a singer/comedian. Very funny and no bad language.

We hired a car from Holiday Autos for 12 days for £125 plus 3 Euros per day additional insurance. All done on Internet prior to arrival. Rental office is 15 minutes walk from Yaramar. I took my SatNav and this really helped as Fuengirola has a lot of one-way streets and most of these were taken into account by my Garmin. Because I perceived that parking would be a problem in Gibraltar we went on the Thomson trip. Very good with time to shop.

Yaramar has a fitness room but this does not have a tradmill or rowing machine. Just about everything else.

Overall this is one of the best holidays we have been on. To think at our age we would be dancing till midnight, every night, astounds us. This lease of life we put down to the quality and talent of all those responsible for the activities and entertainment. Very nice people indeed.

Kath and Mike

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeColeIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We arrived on a very warm Saturday afternoon in October and enjoyed super weather all the week we were there. Fast and efficient reception and we were in our Premier room in minutes. We were on 6th floor, the rooms were excellent with superb views across the sea. The higher rooms are probably pretty scary !! the Hotel is 15 stories high. The room came with free safe/fridge/flowers /champers/bathrobes. We were cleaned 2 or 3 times a day !. Well worth the extra payment..

Booked with Thomson online ,TIP ...booked the hotel rate first then added morning flight from Manchester.
Good poolside positions and plenty going on to fillyour day.
Food 7/10 just lacked a bit of class but thats Hotel food for you. Always had to wait for a table though at around busier times.
Drinks expensive but plenty of happy hour opportunities where half price kicked in.
Train travel was very cheap , you can go direct to Malaga airport from 100 yards from hotel for 5 euro return .

Nightime in Hotel was poor and the only downside. The music was set for 95 year olds. I'm sure many people enjoy it but beware. !! We chose to walk out to the many street bars at the rear of the Hotel where we were entertained by street musicians or just sat and people watched. Much cheaper and very enjoyable.
All in all i would recommend this Hotel, no complaints at all really. The resorts on Costa Del Sol are massive but are geared up correctly with plenty of healthy competition in the bars.

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonynewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews