We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,679)
Filter reviews
1,679 results
Traveller rating
787
616
205
51
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
787
616
205
51
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thomson gold entertainment team gold entertainment patio bar thomson team gold hotel pool area happy hour plenty of choice sea view across the road superior room evening entertainment great holiday sister hotel great entertainment both breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
1,499 - 1,504 of 1,679 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2009

WEll we have just got back from our 7th visit to the Yaramar and enjoyed ourselves as much as ever.
The staff were as freindly and helpful as ever and nothing was too much trouble for anyone a special mention fro Ana, Paco & Gracie in the resturant but all the staff in there are great.
The food was good plenty of it and lots of choce for both breakfast and dinner .
The one thing tobe aware of if you go before the 1st of May is no air con and it can get hot at night even in april.
If you want a bit of pampering go and see Gloria & Monica in the beauty sallon well worth a visit.
Out side the hotel if you miss breakfast or want a great lunch or snack go & see Sean & Debbie at th UPPA CRUST just round the corner from the hotel the food is great & the welcome warm & friendly & if you want a drink at a LOT less than the hotel on the same street as the Uppa CRust there is a lovely small bar run by Pam & Mick called THE LOUNGE BAR its is a ffriendly atmosphere go and give it a go I went with my Mom who is diabetic and they went out especially to find her no sugar drinks so thanks for that.
We look forward to our next visit in november.
Ps went to Fuengirola zoo its well worth a visit we really enjoyed it !! & if you go to the market be aware dont put your money in a backkpack as our friend had her bag slashed & her purse stolen so keep you bag around the front of you

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alliebal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Stayed here for two weeks, 27march-10 april. Had no problems with food, staff,pool beds or entertainment. The pool was not heated nor the air conditioning on( the Thomsom brochure implies that it is 24/7) which it seems is a regular complaint which the hotel seem reluctant to do anything about so beware if these are important to you. Had a room on 7th floor over pool which gets sun until late evening which could make it very warm in summer months. If the balcony doors are open then there is some traffic noise from the busy road which runs past the front of the hotel. The hotel also caters for the older age group so I would suggest that if you are under 50 give it a miss. If you wish any more info, please ask

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We stayed at the Yaramar in February for 3 weeks, and enjoyed it very much. We booked with Portland this time, because it was substantially less than Thompsons, even though they are both part of the Tui Group.

The hotel is situated right on the sea front, with a long flat promenade in front. All areas of the hotel we found to be immaculate.

Most rooms either face straight onto the beach and get morning sun, or have a side sea view with afternoon sun. The only exception to this are the corner rooms, one on each of the 14 floors, which are classed as ‘superior rooms’ and have a corner balcony. We paid extra for a superior room, which had floor to ceiling glass windows about 25 feet along the whole length of the room, giving fantastic views of the sea. We were able to watch the sunrise while lying in bed! The room was very comfortable, and had everything we required including a free safe and fridge. There was also tea making facilities provided, and a hairdryer in the bathroom. [I think the fridge is chargeable in standard rooms.]. The rooms all had lots of English TV channels including BBC1 & 2, ITV1 2 & 3, as well as BBC World, Sky News & CNN.

Food choices were excellent. We have never stayed in a hotel before offering as much choice, with something for all tastes including vegetarian, and because the guests were virtually all British, things like porridge were always available at breakfast. The evening meals always included at least 2 fish dishes, and usually 3 meat dishes…even Roast Beef & Yorkshire Pud on occasions, as well as some Spanish dishes for those feeling a bit more adventurous. We never heard any complaints about the food while we were there. There were some queues for the restaurant at busy times, so we tended to go down early to avoid this.

The staff were all friendly, and on the odd occasion we had a problem with something in the room it was dealt with quickly and efficiently.

Entertainment during the day was provided for anyone interested, and included all the usual activities, such as bowls on the beach etc. Evening entertainment consisted of a singer/ musician in the main lounge area every night, and a show in a downstairs room 3-4 nights a week, with the entertainment staff filling in on the other nights. This downstairs room looks like a converted nightclub, and was not to everyone’s taste as it had one area facing directly onto the stage and another part around the corner near the bar, where you had to watch the act via a large screen. Smokers also used this separate area, so anyone wanting a drink from the bar had to go through the smoking area.

All in all we had a very pleasant time at the Yaramar, and would go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Banky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

We have travelled a lot and stayed in many hotels,this one was very good with nice and friendly staff,rooms where very cosy and warm.Great choice of food and plenty of it,we had many walks along the sea front and around the back streets and you could walk right through to Fuengirola town.There are many bars and places to eat,we did like the breakfast at Upper Crusts and enjoyed a drink at the Bar One pub near the hotel.
Overall a very nice place to holiday and we would consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keywebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

What can I say about this Hotel that hasn't already been said?
Well, I would think 'Not a lot' !!
My partner and I stayed at the Yaramar for 1 week in October 2008, 'to test the water' so to speak. From the moment we arrived, late in the evening (10:30) we were very impressed. Staff were lovely and eager to help with anything, right thoughout our stay.
On entering our room, we were very surprised (and grateful!) to find plates of meat, bowls of fruit and salad, as well as water and fruit juice awaiting us.
Our room, although slightly smaller than we expected, was very well furnished and clean. The size wasn't really an issue as it was more than compensated for by the bathroom, which was pristine (and large!) and the balcony as well as overall comfort.
The choice of food in the restaurant was impressive (both for breakfast and dinner) as was the food itself. Virtually all tastes and dietary requirements were catered for.
The poolside bar too was extremely well looked after with a good choice of food/snacks and drinks. Again, service was excellent.
A good choice of day time activities were available if required and evening/night time entertainment was very good.
Like others, I noticed that although there were more than enough sun-beds around the pool, there were those that insisted they would 'stake their claim' to one at 8:45 then disappear for the whole morning. Totally un-neccessary from my point of view.
Hotel location was spot on and near to all local amenities, shops etc.
All in all, an excellent Hotel with superb staff and service in an first class location, well worth the cost.
We are already arranging to return in 2009 but this time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews