We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect family villa for a relaxing holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Velha

Large outdoor area on various levels
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large outdoor area on various levels
Outdoor dining area overlooking pool and vineyards beyond Upstairs lounge and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Large outdoor area on various levels
Outdoor dining area overlooking pool and vineyards beyond
Upstairs lounge and dining area
Fully equipped kitchen with breakfast bar
Bedroom 1
Dining area
Downstairs lounge with TV, DVD and games
Upstairs lounge with log burning stove
Downstairs lounge with TV and DVD
Shaded area on lawn
Shaded pergola outside
Upstairs dining area looking out to balcony and upper patio
View from across valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Amarante, Porto District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect family villa for a relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a family group of four adults, two teens and one child, in August 17.

Sue and Paul, the owners, have created a beautiful holiday home that exceeds the already high expectations created by the photos on the website. We spent almost the entire week either relaxing by the pool, or eating and drinking on one of the numerous terraces in the well maintained, landscaped gardens.

The setting and location of the villa are perfect for a relaxed, stress free holiday, and Sue (accompanied by her dog - Milly) is the ideal host; Available and full of helpfull tips and advice, if required, but otherwise completely unobtrusive.

Our week at Casa Velha was one of the best holiday's we've had recently, and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone else thinking of booking. In fact I already have!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin R
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I can't praise this property enough. Less than an hour from Porto airport, it's private and secluded but town is only 10 mins drive away. This is a wonderful family friendly property that has been decorated and kitted out with care. I simply couldn't think of anything I wanted that wasn't already provided. Sue and Paul, who were absolutely lovely, were nearby for any queries and even cleaned out the BBQ each day so we didn't have to. A van full of bakery delicacies arrived daily, which was about the only thing that enticed me away from the magnificent pool. I'm almost reluctant to write this review in case it becomes wildly popular and we can't book again next year. I thoroughly recommend Casa Velha.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannasim...
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
“Stunningly beautiful place!”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a fabulous holiday here. It is a very beautiful property , fully updated with with all modern conveniences and artistically and tastefully decorated. It is situated in the midst of beautiful mountainous vineyards and has a pristine "Hockneyesque" swimming Pool in which to luxuriate during hot summer days. Close to the beautiful town of Amarente and not too far from Picturesque Porto it a fabulous place to share a holiday with family and friends. I highly recommend it and Sue and Paul could not have been more gracious hosts!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidHUk
UK
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“High quality villa with four double rooms and heated pool”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

As the title suggests, this is just what we were looking for. The 'doubles' are actually twins pushed together - but that works fine - each with an en-suite bathroom, two of which have walk-in showers and two of which have baths with showers over.

The highlights of this villa are the heated pool (a very comfortable 30 degrees during our stay) and the high standard of furniture and fittings. In particular, the poolside furniture is very smart, with eight loungers and four parasols; and the villa's interior design is beautifully thought out, including artworks by Susan (one of the proprietors) in most of the rooms. It has TV (with stocks of DVDs), wifi and a CD player. The upper floor has the kitchen, lounge/diner, two en suite bedrooms, and a separate WC, while on the lower floor are the other two en suite bedrooms and a second lounge. Outside there is a laundry room with washing machine.

Another highlight is that Susan and Paul, the proprietors who live next door (Graham is a 'silent' business partner whom you never meet), are very friendly and helpful. For instance, Sue got some shopping in before we arrived, so that we immediately had some snacks and drinks available on arrival. Sue and Paul can also give you plenty of useful information about the locality.

There are two outside eating areas, one of which, under a porch, is perfect for breakfast, and the other, under a parasol near the barbecue, is perfect for evening meal. They both have a view over the pool and indeed across the valley, which is very pleasant.

The villa does not have air conditioning, meaning that on hot nights, it's more comfortable to leave the windows open (they have a tilt facility) - so you may want to take mosquito 'zappers' and use insect repellent to avoid being bitten.

The villa's surroundings are attractive: the site is approached down a steep slope on the north side, is screened by trees (some distance away) on its east and west sides, and has a view of the other side of the valley (the River Olo) to the south. The site is terraced: if you call the area where you park level 1, then you walk down steps past garden/grounds on levels 2 and 3, then the villa is on levels 4 and 5, and the pool on level 6. This is not as arduous as perhaps it sounds, but it does mean that it would not be suitable for anyone with mobility difficulties. The overall feel of the site is of rural peace and seclusion - neither the villa nor the pool is overlooked - unlike the villas just up the road, which are in more suburban surroundings.

A drawback of being on a valley side is indeed the slope of the approach road: it is a fairly steep, cobbled, residential road, that you don't feel at all like walking back up. It's not the sort of location where you can go out for a stroll, so consequently we never explored Fridao, the village the villa is in.

However, we did explore Amarante, the local town a few miles away, and this is a gem. The road (the N312) from Fridao to Amarante brings you into a little square that has two or three very nice cafes and, almost hidden just off the square, the lovely Adega Regional Quelha restaurant. Leading off the square is a pretty little street that also has several good restaurants (e.g. the Lusitania, the Estoril and the Tasquinha) leading to the beautful Roman bridge over the River Tamega, which gives onto the equally beautiful Sao Goncalo square. This lively square is home to two excellent cafe bars, which are a great place to spend the late evening after dinner. Amarante is a large enough town to have other amenities, e.g. four supermarkets (Continente is the best) and four filling stations.

Amarante's best restaurant, however, is surely 1881 Cervejaria, currently only open on Friday and Saturday evenings. Susan told us about it and kindly booked a table for us - which is essential, as it has only six or seven tables, so booking is required. Service is slow, as everything is cooked to order, so settle in and allow two hours or more for dinner! It is in Rua Nova, off the N15, up the hill, near the health centre.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin W
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fabulous week at Casa Velha which enjoys a stunning location less than an hour from Porto. The villa was fully equipped and very comfortable with a fabulous pool and outside eating area, Our only regret was that we were not staying longer. Paul and Susan were perfect hosts, helpful and available without being intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing