We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“GREAT LOCATION FOR TOURING LOUGH DERG REGION”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Primrose Cottage

Picnic time on the front lawn at Primrose Cottage with views of fields and gently sloping hills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picnic time on the front lawn at Primrose Cottage with views of fields and gently sloping hills
A stunning lake view at Kilbarron Quay - 7 mins drive away ! Primrose Cottage to the left and Blackberry Cottage to the right sharing 1.5 acres.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Picnic time on the front lawn at Primrose Cottage with views of fields and gently sloping hills
A stunning lake view at Kilbarron Quay - 7 mins drive away !
Primrose Cottage to the left and Blackberry Cottage to the right sharing 1.5 acres.
Cosy but spacious living room - open fire is on the right of the picture just out of view
An evening sitting in beside a cozy log fire in Primrose Cottage
Cosy but spacious living room - open fire is on the right of the picture just out of view
Open plan living room looking towards the kitchen area and window with views of the woods
Double bedroom with luxury bedding, towels and en suite to the rear
Twin bedroom  with quality bedding and towels, with a convenient en suite
Enjoy eating 'el fresco' on those long summer days.....
Kilbarron Village shop, post office and friendly pub just 1 km from your cottage
One of Nenagh's traditional shops which you will find on the high street
Countryside views all around and heaps of fresh air
Enjoying water sports on the beautiful Lough Derg, just 1 kilometre away
Portumna Castle, 15 minute drive
Portumna Abbey dates back to the 15th century
A family of ducks cooling down on a hot evening at Terryglass.
Everyone having fun on the lake at Terryglass, both on and off shore- feels like summer !
Boats jostling for space at the marina in Terryglass.
Take a long stroll into Cominchas Forest, within walking/running distance
Autumn and mushroom picking heaven in the Cominchas forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nenagh, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
aidan o s
1 review
“GREAT LOCATION FOR TOURING LOUGH DERG REGION”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The house was perfect for what we required , it had all the comforts of a home.We even got to use the spacious garden. It is perfect for use as a base to tour the Lough Derg region or if you are attending a function at Coolbawn Quay.
Alison was very accommodating and very easy to deal with. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. It was a pleasure to host your group for the wedding weekend and I am pleased you found everything you needed, which is what we aim for ! Having guests who leave the cottage so very tidy and clean is a huge help, you are welcome to return for another break anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, this is much appreciated. Equally, I am delighted that you found our cottage to be comfortable and well equipped, we aim to create a holiday 'home' that you can really enjoy spending time in. Hopefully we see you back again for a bit longer next time - maybe to try some golfing or fishing locally !
Warm Regards
Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
patricia...
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely cottage. Great position for many local places of interest”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My sisters and daughter stayed in Primrose cottage for a week in July 2015. We were greeted by John the owner who could not have been more welcoming. The cottage has been well thought of in its planning e.g lots of cooking equipment if you want do self catering. Although there are some lovely places to eat locally. We went for a five star meal in the lakeside hotel in killaloo with our cousins. If you are looking for quiet place to stay, that is very central to seeing the heart of Ireland then these is for you. Pat Roe

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post this review for us. I am glad you found the cottage to be well equipped for self catering, there are a number of restaurants within a short drive but it is nice to have the choice and definitely, an economical option!
it was a pleasure to have your family stay with us and hopefully we will see you again for yet more exploration of Ireland.

Kind Regards
Alison & John Mckenna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine041...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A group of 6 of us stayed at Primrose Cottage for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding at Coolbawn Quay, which is about 1.5 miles away to walk / drive. We also had other friends who rented out the neighbouring cottage. We chose the cottage given its closeness and also it offered really good value for money compared to the wedding venue itself.

We had an amazing time both at the wedding and relaxing in the houses. They were so clean and comfortable and spacious enough for the 6 adults. A huge bonus was the breakfast pack provided upon arrival, the best part was the homemade bread which was half eaten before we even made it to the church 

The two en suite rooms and third bathroom came in handy for us all and it was brilliant to have towels provided too. The free wifi was great and the board games were brought out to display the competitive side of everyone!
All in all the cottages are beautiful. They have everything required to enjoy your stay. Well worth a visit, highly recommended. We really enjoyed our stay as a group and really hope to be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: How well equipped it was, the kitchen had everything
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We are so pleased you were happy with the cottage location for the Coolbawn wedding and found the welcome pack a bonus.
Hopefully we will see some of you again for another look at our corner of Tipperary which has much to offer away from the usual tourist areas and provides a peaceful retreat from busy city life.

Kind Regards
Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tlupward
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“It was fabulous!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I loved this place. Everything was great, if you want to relax this is the place. This was our base to Galway, cliffs of Mohr, Blarney Castle, Cork and many other places. Reuben and Becky supplied us with homemade bread, twice ! It was super clean and the house was well stocked for cooking and general living. I will be back one day!
Tammy and Michael Upward

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like home
Liked least: A little far out
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for the warm review Tammy & Michael. We really enjoyed having you stay and celebrate Canada Day (little did we know it was on)!
Hopefully we'll see you sometime in the future,
Reuben & Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing