We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Longford Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 week nights. Rooms and ensuite badly need upgrading. Very noisy as walls and floors appear paperthin. Bar food and breakfast was fine. Leisure center is good. Front desk staff seem disinterested. Asked for quiet room location but was not facilitated as was at top of stairs where every guest passed. Management and staff need to put in a better effort.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buddylovespurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 204 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

My friend and I just come back from a lovely weekend away in Longford where we stayed here in the hotel...
we were greeted by a very helpful, pleasant, and informative lady at reception. We enjoyed a lovely 3 course meal. Our room was what was expected a place to sleep, it was clean and tidy. well supplied with shampoos etc., hair-dryer, iron and tea/coffee etc..
Upon leaving I reminded myself of when I looked on this website to see what the hotel was like that I almost changed my booking to another place of accommodation in the town based on other peoples opinion but having said that I am happy to say I didn't take note of there opinions and thoroughly enjoyed the weekend.
I would most definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a break away, stay over or any occasion

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liketotravel087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Food dire, service not much better and smell in our room, I don't want to kick a dog while it's down but whoever is in charge of this place would want to take the bull by the horns and turn this place around, leisure centre it's only saving grace, such a pity as it could be a great venue

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leo234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Myself and my family stayed over the Christmas period for 2 nights.
Food was lovely and well priced. Room was spotless and clean.
Staff were very friendly and could not have been more helpful in terms of service for food, drink and use of the Leisure Centre
We would certainly stay there again and recomend the hotel to family and friends

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine1599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Visited the Longford Arms Hotel restaurant the other day, what a disappointment. Where does one start ...
The restaurant table when I came to sit down was still covered in left over food on plates and on the table, there was food on the floor and the area was a total mess. The restaurant was not too busy so there was no excuse for this.
I ordered the fish and as there were no chips available only potatoes I asked if some may be cooked for me, my request was greeted with a cheery yes no problem which was very nice. I took my dinner (carvery) with me and had to wait at least 10 mins for my chips, when they did arrive there was enough to feed 5 people, such an almighty waste !!

The waitress walking around had an apron on that had not it seemed seen a washing machine in 6 months, totally unacceptable and unnecessary in this day and age.

I will not be calling again to the Longford Arms Hotel for lunch as I do suspect there are more appealing and cleaner restaurants that theirs inn Longford Town

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spencer2leitrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
2.3 km away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
227 reviews
7.8 km away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
31.5 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
35.1 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,958 reviews
30.7 km away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longford Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Longford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Price Range: $134 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Longford Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longford Arms Hotel and Leisure Centre is a three star hotel in Longford Town offering excellent facilities at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Longford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing