We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family dinner ! ”
Review of Viewmount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viewmount House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with my family for a Sunday dinner yesterday. Everything from the start was top notch. Staff are always on the ball and friendly. The food was excellent to be fair, my starter was the pork spring rolls which were a little small but tasted great none the less. Main course and dessert were amazing. The standard at viewmount has always been top class for years now, don't think it'll ever change!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank IssaY15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It is a great experience spiced with a taste of old mansion and new culinary take on traditional recipes. It is not a cheap treat, but it is without a shadow of a doubt a treat! The pig cheek was sublime and the venison cooked to perfection, a wonderful culinary experience. Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a very enjoyable evening and night last weekend at Viewmount House. We travelled with our young 18 month old baby and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The House is a country home with particular charm and clear hard work and restoration from the owners. The restaurant is the well known/signature venue for chef Gary O'Hanlon. 16 of us ate a three course dinner and all 16 guests enjoyed each course thoroughly. Breakfast is also a particular feature at Viewmount. They have a very nice granola made by the owner Beryl and a dish called 'Boxty Benedict' which is definitely worth a try. We were delighted with our stay and had to make various requests with a young child in toe. Nothing was a problem, including baby dinner bowls, bottles, high chairs and cots. While it may not be a venue one would immediately bring a child or young children to (given the county manor style) it certainly is a place we would recommend and return to whether for a stay or just for dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been hearing glowing reports about this restaurant now for quite some time . Had lunch there last Sunday and can now endorse all their good reviews . It is well run , has very professional & friendly waiting staff and the food was amazing . Our bill , for what we had , was very reasonable and we are eagerly looking forward to our next visit . A great Midlands venue .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Celebrated a family birthday over Sunday lunch in Viewmount and all three generations were perfectly catered for. The food was excellent (Sous-vide beef was a particular hit). The best part of the experience was that it was so relaxed. We were given an ideal table, the meal wasn't rushed in any way and the staff were perfectly attentive without interfering. The kids had a fabulous time running around the garden afterwards as the adults relaxed and chatted. Can't fault the team and would recommend the venue as a perfect location for a family reunion. Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
31.7 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,204 reviews
10.1 km away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
35 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
162 reviews
29.7 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,118 reviews
34.9 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viewmount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewmount House

Address: Knockahaw, Dublin Road, Longford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Price Range: $221 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viewmount House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Viewmount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viewmount House Hotel Longford
Viewmount Hotel Longford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing