We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viewmount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Viewmount House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We finally got to stay at Viewmount. We had to cancel a booking last year due to the icy roads. We had a lovely relaxing time. The rooms are beautiful and cosy. The food in the restaurant was amazing, topped off with a lovely bottle of wine. The breakfast was perfect also. The owners Beryl and James were very welcoming and the staff professional. We will return!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    20
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
92
9
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

This is a magnificent country house located just outside Longford. Beautiful rooms furnished to perfection. Five star quality in every way. Restaurant is top quality and the best in Longford. Blazing fires in the reception rooms. Beryl, the owner welcomes you as if you were the only guests arriving - and has all the time in the world for you. It is perfect for a getaway break if you like romantic four poster bed and furnishings polished off with a romantic dinner. Ideal. The gardens are magnificent too. Well worth a visit - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Three rooms with balcony living room which are ideal if you have a family as they can put beds in he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

This is the most fabulous restaurant. The food is always top class and there is a wonderful athmosphere in the restaurant. Beryl is the perfect host, attentive but not intrusive. All the waiting staff are excellent also. Always ready to recommend when asked but not pushy. Lovely place to relax with friends over a leisurly meal. Couldnt recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvedaLongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here the night of a special beef tasting menu. The meal was amazing, chef Gary O'Hanlon really pushed the boat out.

Owner Beyril was welcoming and very friendly. We loved our room with the view of the orchard and hope to return in the summer when the garden is at its best.

Room Tip: All the rooms have different themes and are designed around a central piece of furniture, I doubt th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaSchaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed in Viewmount House last weekend for the first time and what an experience. It is an absolutely fantastic place. The owners Beryl and James are so friendly and welcoming. The rooms are fantastic with the most comfortable bed we ever slept in, full of period furniture and very spacious. There is a separate loft seating area with Sofa, armchairs and TV. The entire decor of the house was very impressive. WE dined in their fabulous restaurant and the food was first class.The breakfast was the best we ever tasted, all local organic produce and cooked to perfection. We had a wonderful time and will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelnGeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
10.1 km away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
30.0 km away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
29.7 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
34.9 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
17.6 km away
Cooneys Hotel
Cooneys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballymahon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viewmount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewmount House

Property: Viewmount House
Address: Dublin Road, Longford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Price range (per night): $195 - $249
Hotel Class:4 star — Viewmount House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Viewmount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viewmount House Hotel Longford
Viewmount Hotel Longford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing