We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Old Home”
Review of Viewmount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viewmount House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2007

This house is beautifully renovated! It was built in 1740.

Our room was by far the largest room we stayed in during our trip. It had its own sitting room! The bed was comfy and the bathroom was largest of our trip! It had a huge claw foot tub to soak in!

The grounds were lovely. It is located just outside the town of Longford. It is a 20 minute walk to the city center.

The breakfast in the morning was delicious and they offered several newspapers.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvsGoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 229 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2007

This goes back almost 3 years, but we are planning a return visit and I was checking to see if Viewmount House is still getting great reviews. 5 of us stayed there one night towards the end of our two week trip and it was one of the best B&Bs we stayed at. Not too many people seem to visit the Longford area but it was convenient for us coming across somewhat midpoint from Galway in the west to Dublin in the east, and what a wonderful relaxing home to stay in. First of all, it's a gorgeous, very stately, historic feeling manor home. Plus, there are several outlying smaller buildings that were being rehabbed at the time for a restaurant and maybe more rooms. We want to go back to see these additions. Second, the hosts were very charming and helpful. They greeted us with tea in the library, then let us loose to explore their large garden area and play with their very friendly but huge Irish wolfhound. My wife and I stayed in a 2-room suite with bedroom, sitting room with fireplace and tv, and a large bathroom. The town is about 10 minutes drive away and has several very nice restaurant choices. There is a country club about 2 minutes away. The breakfast was outstanding. Individual breakfasts prepared and very gourmet. Our group loved the salmon scrambled eggs and the thin fruit-filled rolled pancakes. And, as an example of how nice a place this is the glassware in the rooms was all Waterford! Also, the price was very affordable -- not sure if they were introductory rates or not, as Viewmount had not been open all that long when we were there. Anyway, if you are looking for a beautiful manor home oasis in the middle of the central farmlands, and convenient between Galway and Dublin, you couldn't stay in a better place. We hope to make it back soon.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank IllinoisMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2007

Stayed here for one night before Xmas whilst in the area for business, lovely old house with plenty of character. We received a nice welcome from the very friendly owner who brought us tea in the library in front of a real fire lit specially for us. very good value with a nice breakfast the following morning. Highly recommended, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank westieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2006

Viewmount is a magnificent house and an outstanding Bed and Breakfast. During our stay the owner looked after us extremely well: we were warmly welcomed with tea and biscuits and the use of a very beautiful sitting room and library. We stayed in the wisteria room with antique furniture and en-suite etc and enjoyed fruit and compimentary bottled water. The breakfast was delicious and generous with linen table cloths and napkins etc. A real, real treat.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2005

It's a big, old period house just outside Longford. Stayed overnight on way across country and it was a very restful place. Would return again. Very nioce breakfast and a good menu and the owner looked after me. Very friendly, discreet service. Good value too.

  • Stayed: January 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank matsugawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
31.7 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,204 reviews
10.1 km away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
35 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
162 reviews
29.7 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,118 reviews
34.9 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viewmount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewmount House

Address: Knockahaw, Dublin Road, Longford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Price Range: $221 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viewmount House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Viewmount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viewmount House Hotel Longford
Viewmount Hotel Longford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing